In a bit of a Holding Pattern

Stick with me here. I’m having a bit of a rough time here with loads of different emotions as I rapidly approach my parent’s departure date.

They leave this Saturday evening, which is less than 3 days away. They’ll be moving to Cambodia for a minimum of 3 years but have mentioned that they might stay there until my father retires, which would be 10 years.

This week is hard because I’m getting regular deliveries from them. Yesterday Mom sent many of her perishable groceries. Getting my mother’s cake decorating supplies, her bread machine (which she uses all the time), flour, lard, etc… it seems silly but has left me with the very real awareness that they aren’t going to be 25 minutes away any more.

Just trying to hold in the ‘raw-ness’ I’m feeling. I’m very happy for them that they can go, am actually jealous that I can’t! I am every so grateful that this is happening now when we have so many communication methods open to us.

But seriously, when you come down to it, their my parents and they are going to be exactly on the other side of this not-so big & very huge globe!

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In a bit of a Holding Pattern

  1. Nicole says:

    Just wanted to let you know I was thinking about you!

    (((hugs)))

  2. Elizabeth says:

    That’s hard to have your family go from “being next door” to another country. I’m thinking of you.

    Elizabeth

  3. SusieH says:

    My sympathies as you get ready to say goodbye to your parents – it is a wonderful thing when you can live close by to family, and being in the UK, far away from our family, I’m realizing just how special it was! Email and letters, etc. are wonderful, but hugs are hard to send :). Thanks for commenting on my “100 great books – really?” blog post as well. It’s a strange list, isn’t it?

Leave a comment