Vegetable Supreme

This recipe comes from my Aunt’s Kitchen.  My mother and I have made this recipe for years and years.  Over time we’ve come to realize that given the amount of higher fat ingredients and such in this recipe it makes for a better ‘special occasion’ dish.

That being said, this is my husband’s absolute favourite vegetable side dish.

blanche/steam for 5 minutes or put in microwave for 5 minutes:

-2 cups broccoli

-2 cups cauliflower

[over time, this has come to be a good 8 – 10 cups of veggies, often the frozen cauli/broc/carrot mix… sometimes used frozen but then allow for much extra cooking time.]

Combine the following in a mixing bowl:

2 eggs

1 onion, diced (works really well to use a chopper type machine, really fine is great!)

1/2 cup mayonnaise (I use lowest fat)

1 can cream of mushroom soup (I use low fat & salt)

1/2 cup cheddar cheese (again, low fat!)

Once well blended, pour over the veggies and lightly stir into the vegetable layer.  When cooking the soup layer will sink into the vegetables and kind of fill the gaps.

Variation: you can omit the onion and use a soup mix of onion instead.  Really, this is flexible.  There was only once that I made this and decided that my substitutions were gross, so in 15+ years of making this dish, I consider that pretty good.

Second Variation: omit the onions completely.  There was a time when I had to eliminate the onions because they triggered my migraines.  It was hard for me to get used to them back in the dish afterward but this is how my husband prefers the dish to be flavoured.

Last:

Sprinkle shredded cheese over the soup layer, and then lightly crushed croutons. (Italian flavored croutons are delicious!)

Original recipe called for the topping layer to be grated cheese, bread crumbs and 1 cup melted butter.

Bake in the oven at 350 for 45 minutes.  Give yourself a fair amount of extra cooking time.  I find its closer to 55 minutes.  And this kind of settles once pulled out of the oven after it rests for 10 minutes.

And to make it easier to copy out or for grocery shopping purposes, how this appears in my recipe box:

4 – 10 cups veggies (blanche)

2 eggs

1 onion

1/2 cup mayo

1 can cream mushroom

1/2 cup cheddar  (mix 5 well, top)

more cheddar

croutons

350 / 45

This entry was posted in Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

