Remembering the Simple Things

Love Notes

There are times when we get so absorbed into everything that we forget to take the time to do the easy, little things that mean the world.

Today, my son was so thrilled at how he made his bed.  He had to show me, repeatedly.  Yesterday, the kids worked really hard a folding and sorting and putting away laundry.  Our daughter worked really hard at setting a beautiful table outside for us so what we could have dinner outside.  She got me to make Lemonade, pulled out the picnic/outside dishes, place mats, washed the tables and chairs and so forth!

I had not really taken the time to really tell them how much I appreciated it.

They’re out for a long bike ride with Daddy right now and as I looked at their rooms I was reminded that my mother sometimes left me little notes.  Hopefully I can give them a piece of that pleasure today!

This entry was posted in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Remembering the Simple Things

  1. dreamom says:

    Those are great notes. Want to pen some for me? I have a son that has not fulfilled a single responsibility in weeks, a daughter who is crying endlessly because I closed the van door when she went running off in a temper tantrum, and another son who has spent the day hanging off me crying… :s

    • Songbirdy says:

      Sounds to me like you can use the note:

      Dearest Friend,

      You’ve just moved a long distance across the country. Have set up a home and under going a HUGE lifestyle change as your husband has transitioned from full-time student to full-time ag. industry in the summer worker!

      You’ve left your family and friends and have, instead of spending time mourning this at home, gone out and started building friendships and relationships in your new community. You’ve already made an impact in your new church home!

      From a distance, you managed to cheer and encourage my family and I here through one of our toughest times ever.

      Not only all of that! You continue to support your son as he lives through one of the toughest situations ever, and work hard to keep his relationship with his father sound!

      Not only that, you’re pregnant too! [and have a toddler, a pre-schooler, and a growing mid-schooler to boot!]

      Dear Friend, You are an amazing woman who has done jaw-droppingly hard, strenuous and tiring things in the last several months! Brew up a pot of tea. Let’s celebrate you!

      {{{hugs}}} I think you’re fantastic!

      Sincerely, your friend, Roberta

      I choose to cheer you and the amazing things you’ve done and continue to do!

Leave a Reply

