A Dutch Inspired Sundress

K's Sundress

My daughter has a thing for pink. To the point that people that we meet in the streets while we go biking can recognize *us* because “Pinky” is always with us.

This morning Pinky declared that she doesn’t have enough summer clothes. I pointed out that she could put her clothes in the wash and voila, have clean clothes! But reading between the lines, I understood her message, she doesn’t have enough dresses.

She gave me 4 designs that she liked. I then drew one for her that she liked. On our afternoon bike ride we went and bought the pattern that I had suggested. After we got home, I realized I needed interfacing so that I could trace out the pattern. I used a Kwik Sew pattern for this dress.

While buying the interfacing I found this adorable material that I just had to buy for her. I figured it would be good for Pinky to wear blue ๐Ÿ™‚ my favourite colour. I knew that I had to weasel her into the dress, hence the ribbon decoration. Plus, I made the version of the pattern that I knew she would adore. She couldn’t fall asleep until I finished the dress tonight. At first she was annoyed with the time I took to put on the ribbon but admits that its the ‘ribbon that makes the dress.’

Here are a few other pictures:
the back Back of Dress

the front bodice FrontDetail

and the hem, standard Pinky hem Hem Detail

This entry was posted in Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Dutch Inspired Sundress

  1. dreamom says:

    “hehehe. I LIKE it!” says Libby ๐Ÿ™‚ the colour combo is beautiful. send me a pic of her in it ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

