A Facebook Conversation

[I’m still alive but life has been busy.  Here is a conversation a friend and I had the other day.  As you can see… homeschooling is truly drudgery and misery 🙂  Unfortunately the beginning of this conversation was cut off, about our dreams of running off to a Silent Retreat and how they couldn’t *tell* us to leave…  and no, I didn’t chop times, just some private-y type information ]

Jennifer

you’d think they’d have pity on us!

10:46amRoberta

well, any logical person would… lol, the other day our internet went out [kids unplugged the modem]

and I called rogers because of course… I was dumb and didn’t check that!

and… the lady was so funny…

10:46amJennifer

🙂:)

10:46amRoberta

oh MY you home school???!!!

wow!

lol… so I gave her lots of lovely stories.

10:47amJennifer

😀:D 😀:D 😀:D

10:47amRoberta

my favourite is that the bathroom is the location of most of my parent teacher conferences.

10:47amJennifer

hahaha! 😀:D

10:48amRoberta

there is no rule that you can’t infer that the life sized model of the guillotine you are building will need testing for accuracy….

10:48amJennifer

😀:D

10:49amRoberta

work-service should include cleaning toilets…

[snipping out a bit where we plan a get together… sorry you aren’t invited]

10:53amJennifer

that’ll be great…I doubt we’ll be in school still that week….

10:53amRoberta

lol, I’m a task master… If I can con them into school… we do 🙂:)

my kids are using my chat here to do other things… sigh!

10:55amJennifer

yah….but I think I”ll be ready for a break by then….the Monday before is D’s birthday, and our unofficial last day of school, which is actually our annual trip to the zoo.

10:56amRoberta

ah, and we do the zoo around September **st [okay on the 21st the last 3 years]

which is K’s birthday and E’s is on October **th…

10:56amJennifer

i love making traditions like that!

10:56amRoberta

yeah, and then foolish I suggested we do the Science centre this year…

10:56amJennifer

eek!

10:56amRoberta

I have since learned the error of my unorthodoxy!

10:57amJennifer

well, eek for me….perhaps not for you?

oh…you were voted off the island?? 😛:P

10:57amRoberta

m.u.s.t. n.o.t. m.e.s.s. w.i.t.h t.h.e z.o.o …

10:57amJennifer

HAhahahaha!!!

10:57amRoberta

yes… ki-heeled and sent off without a coconut.

10:58amJennifer

yikes. 😀:D 😀:D

10:58amRoberta

walking 500 kms in the hot sun… vs. 500 kms in an air conditioned facility…

10:58amJennifer

<sigh>

10:58amRoberta

its pretty… well… lets just say last year one of our conversations at the zoo was…

“Remember last year when the hippopotamus pooped in the pool? and it was green?”

“Yeah… but the year before remember when he pooped on the way out and it was…”

and this is me…

10:59amJennifer

Oh wow. I’m so sad I missed that.

10:59amRoberta

“Okay!!! look the elephants!”

Hey… baby gorilla!

10:59amJennifer

any chance you can skip the hippo this year?

10:59amRoberta

Mom? What does lion poop look like?

lol

nope…

and every year we get zoo buddies…

11:00amJennifer

oh well….

11:00amRoberta

just like we get grocery store buddies…

the kind that think they’re following at a discrete distance but then they end up hyperventilating at my kids comments… and you’re left thinking… maybe I should take that CPR course…

or there will be a death from laughter…

11:01amJennifer

😀:D 😀:D

11:01amRoberta

of course… I play the ‘straight’ man…

11:01amJennifer

while egging the kids on a little?

11:01amRoberta

I’m shocked you could suggest a thing like that…

but… I just know them so well 🙂:) 😉;)

11:02amJennifer

🙂:)

11:03amRoberta

well, we’re supposed to be learning about Samuel de Champlain a wee bit more..

along with De Mont, Pontgrave…

Etienne Brule..

Its very educational for me… I know US history…. lol

11:04amJennifer

we were supposed to be studying one biome each week, and catching up on the middle ages, but at this rate, we’re gonna have to go thru the summer, and until each boy is 23.

11:04amRoberta

LOL!

and here’s my kids… can we hurry up with Greek history? We want to hear the Roman history!

We’re doing 100 years a day in Canadian and Greek history right now…

11:05amJennifer

what is it about the Romans? J’s obsessed with them!

11:05amRoberta

and then J was getting upset because… well I had a Sarah Noble novel study but then we got into the Narnia chronicles and are reading [in conversational method] 2 chapters a day…

yes… the Romans… them Romans…

11:06amJennifer

(conversational? more than one reader?)

11:06amRoberta

yeah, I buy a book for each of us…

I’m Aslan

11:06amJennifer

nice.

11:06amRoberta

E* is Peter, Tumnus… and begrudgingly Edmund [why can’t dad be Edmund???]

K* is Lucy, Susan…

we did the Magician’s Nephew last week, that was a blast… I also got to be the White witch and Aslan…

11:07amJennifer

that’s awesome!

11:07amRoberta

then there is my supportive extended family…

are you sure your kids are learning to read?

11:07amJennifer

headdesk

whoa.

11:07amRoberta

um… no… they just read MNephew in one week…

11:07amJennifer

i bolded.

11:08amRoberta

yes… stars alive!

11:08amJennifer

!E!

@E@

#Q#

11:08amRoberta

**I believe** this means… bold underline

11:08amJennifer

$W$

11:08amRoberta

NOT!

11:08amJennifer

**U**

%T%

^T^

11:08amRoberta

😛:P

11:08amJennifer

ooh….a flying t

11:09amRoberta

lol, well… I should go… I can bring a strawberry candied almond spinach salad…

11:09amJennifer

&Y&

U

11:09amRoberta

dessert too?

/why/

11:09amJennifer

(I(

11:09amRoberta

[?]

11:09amJennifer

)O)

sorry….just looking for more cool stuff….like bolding

11:09amRoberta

lol, I realized that a wee bit ago…

around the ^T^

11:10amJennifer

um, why don’t you pick either salad or dessert, and I can do the rest……

gee, you’re quick on the uptake! 😛:P

11:11amRoberta

[snort] veiled threats will get you nowhar!

11:11amJennifer

we could do pizza again…? make it a tradition?

(*really* veiled, because not even I got it…..😛:P )

11:11amRoberta

yeah, that would be a blast… too yum 🙂:)

lol…

11:11amJennifer

alright. pizza it is!

11:11amRoberta

it all comes back to my sanity.

sometimes conspiracy just makes for great times 🙂:)

11:12amJennifer

my boys are going to be SO stoked that you guys are coming….they still talk about “that” E* (they also have an uncle E*) that has the Darth Vader costume and the light saber and the Bionicles….😀:D

11:12amRoberta

crumb… I just said the kids could have chocolate and pop…

lol, E* and K* were just talking about you guys again.

and about the HS sale, I’m going to look into it… and get back to you.

11:13amJennifer

chocolate and pop? you must be feeling extra-brave today!

11:13amRoberta

no… just distracted…

11:14amJennifer

okay….that’d be fun.

11:14amRoberta

and clearly doubting my sanity…

11:14amJennifer

ooh….they know how to work the system….this is what I have to look forward to….<sigh>

11:14amRoberta

oh… well, I’ll just hold back the really good parts 🙂:)

that way you can be as thrilled as I was 🙂:)

11:14amJennifer

thanks for that.

😛:P 😀:D

11:14amRoberta

no problem… its important to cling to hope…

11:15amJennifer

ah….a thread to hold onto!

11:15amRoberta

yes but don’t wiggle it too much!

11:15amJennifer

drat…sweaty fingers!

11:15amRoberta

🙂:) don’t worry its actually dental floss

11:16amJennifer

great…so now I’m gonna smell all minty and stuff…..😦:(

11:16amRoberta

lol… which brings up a good point… why isn’t there bubble gum flavoured dental floss?

11:16amJennifer

isn’t there?

kiddy stuff?

11:17amRoberta

well considering I eschew stores… (that could not have been a more perfect time to use that word 😀:D )

I have no clue!

11:17amJennifer

(that certainly was a most choice placement! bravo. 😀:D 😀:D )

11:18amRoberta

okay, you and I have to start writing down some of our conversations and then starting our own routine… taking the circuit by storm!

11:18amJennifer

yeah! 😀:D

well, as much as I enjoy lingering in frivolities with you, my husbands’ lack of clean socks this morning impresses upon me the necessity of laundry duty. 😦:(

11:19amRoberta

lol, okay, well… I could copy and paste this into a blog post…

I’m curious to see if others find it humorous 🙂:)

11:19amJennifer

go ahead….🙂:)

11:20amRoberta

and yes… I think my kids are asking for a Ferrari now… must start paying attention now 🙂:)

11:20amJennifer

wow….they aim high, don’t they? who says home schooled kids have no motivation! 😛:P

11:20amRoberta

lol! that and they watched Bedtime Stories the other day… sigh conversation cut off before the silent retreats 🙂:)

11:21amJennifer

my kids want to see that…is it any good?

11:21amRoberta

yes, its a silly plot and all that but its funny, J* and I were laughing.

11:22amJennifer

we were busting a gut laughing at the trailer! and then quoting it for days afterward…😀:D

11:22amRoberta

yeah, well… we could go for a longer visit 🙂:)

11:22amJennifer

I’d want to preview it first…cause I*’s still only 3….🙂:)

but maybe I can arrange that…especially if it looks like it’ll be rainy….🙂:)

11:23amRoberta

I’d say it is okay actually… I’m trying to recall if there was language…

If we get together for the sale I could lend it to you for a preview.

11:23amJennifer

I could watch it the night before….and have a backup in case it doesn’t pass…..although it sounds like it would….🙂:)

oo…that would be cool!

11:23amRoberta

otherwise, there is always the Princess Bride…

and we have the new Pirate Veggie tale movie…

11:24amJennifer

yup.

11:24amRoberta

ack! the CHEESE curls!

11:24amJennifer

😀:D haven’t seen that one…..don’t think….

(the library has “Bedtime Stories”, so I can just get it from there….yay!)

11:25amRoberta

ah… well perhaps we’d better do some pirate-y things then 🙂:) okay… officially… we should go 🙂:)

11:25amJennifer

yes.

no more new topics! 😀:D

talk to you soon….🙂:)

11:25amRoberta

yes for sure 🙂:) I’ll blog this and doctor up the names a bit…

edit the times… how fast can we type?

lol bye! for really! 🙂:)

11:26amJennifer

i think our times are pretty good, actually….🙂:)

ack! no new topics!

okay….bye!!

😀:D

This entry was posted in Fun, School. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

