Exciting Frugal News

So yesterday I shared some of my frustrations with un-frugal organizations. Today, I’d like to share one of my recent frugal highlights out of the home environment.

This is a story about me and missing my parents. Each month, on the Second Sunday, my parents hosted “Soup Sunday.” One year for Christmas my parents asked my brothers and I that we and our families attend. They wanted this to be a way of connecting with us on a regular basis and with each other as siblings. My parents were hoping we’d assume attendance unless we couldn’t and then let them know otherwise.

For my family and I, this became a high-light of our month. For two years, we’d crack open the new calendar and after inserting our birthdays for the year, Soup Sunday’s would be one of the next events to be scheduled for that calendar year.

With my parent’s move to Cambodia, this event is no longer. My mother asked my husband and I to visit her father instead, and we are going to do this for my mother.

However, my children and I really missed Soup Sunday and the fellowship that this day brought as there were often many interesting people invited to my parent’s table to share the soup with us.

I wanted to carry on the tradition.

So I approached my Neighbourhood Group and got permission to create a Soup Social night at our Neighbourhood Group in our neighbourhood space. I am so excited!

Soup Social night will be held on the Third Thursday of every month. Our city has a produce purchasing program, and I am going to buy a Garden Fresh box each month for $15 and turn that into soup to feed as many people as I can! I figure I’ll reach into my pantry to provide the spices, and ingredients to serve coffee, tea, scone/biscuits and salad as well.

Our first night will be next Thursday, and the doors are open from 5:30 p.m. till 8:30 p.m or until our soup runs out! It is strictly B.Y.O.B.S. [bring your own bowl & spoon!] If you are in the Guelph area, please come! We are at Tytler Public School in the basement level, use the Toronto Street doors. I think my son will be greeting you!

Anyhow, my budget for the night is $20. I am confident I can feed 100 people soup, salad and biscuits for that price, thanks to the Garden Fresh Produce.

So that was the money part. Then I was hoping to gradually build up some nice table clothes and napkins from the Thrift Store, some pretty serving pieces, etc.

Today has been one of real blessings. I just got an e-mail, a local company is giving me money so that I can do more! At the thrift store I was sharing with the manager about Soup Social, and she is donating cloth/linen so that I can make enough cloth napkins for 100, plus cloth to make table clothes *and* she is donating a large multi-cup coffee maker!

It will be such a blessing to have these donations and gifts! Already I’ve got about 100 people planning to attend, and it looks like I’ll have enough to do this right!

I have yet to tell my parents about everything. I’ve thought about doing this since I knew they were leaving in October and simply thrilled at the way God is working to pull this together.

Anyhow, I just wanted to share because in this case, thrift is key to creating something big. And yes, I promise to have my camera batteries charged so that I can take pictures!

This entry was posted in Frugal, Fun, Neighbourhood Group. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Exciting Frugal News

  1. Desia says:

    Wish I lived in your area, it sounds like a wonderful way to be out in your community!
    May you have a blessed Easter.

  2. Sandra says:

    Wow that is amazing how the LORD worked to put this all in order.
    Blessings to you,
    Your homeschooling friend

Leave a Reply

