Taking Frugal Out of the Home Budget

One situation that has been cropping up again and again for me is when the Frugal Me encounters Spendy Pete’s out there. You know, out there in the real world where there is money to spend. Or so I’ve been informed.

I’ve been learning the arts of budget spending when you aren’t working with “real” figures but projected figures. Or where there is an “urge to spend every last dollar or you might not get it again next year.”

I volunteer in a leadership position for two groups. One is the Neighbourhood Groups, which are city/county/province sponsored and definitely not church influenced. In this role, my thrifty frugal self is not challenged negatively, in fact I constantly introduced to new ways that could improve my personal thrift.

I am also working as a Camp Director for our church. Here… I am constantly challenged by the waste. To the point that I am caught in a BIG catch 22. I am at the point that I can’t endorse this camp in its current form any more.

Next week I will be meeting with the Education Committee of our church and recommending that we consider disbanding this camp. I am also proposing a radical rejuvenation of the Camp.

Due to some serious extenuating circumstances this is going to be highly political and I’m very worried about this meeting. I am actually afraid that my stance from a frugal position might be the focal point for my attackers.

Anyhow, just another thought!

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Taking Frugal Out of the Home Budget

  1. appliejuice says:

    I am sorry you are having to deal with this, Birdie. I hope it all works out well for you.

  2. cricketB says:

    I spent two work terms in a government lab. “Spend entire budget to prove you need it. Rather than be thrifty for three years, and use savings for big piece of equipment, they bought new computers, often, and got a grant for the equipment. I wasn’t impressed.

Leave a Reply

