I’ll laugh at myself tomorrow

Due to some pretty yucky landlord stuff my local yarn store owner is closing her store.

Today I went in for my last purchase as she’s closed after tomorrow.

I decided, after much deliberation, to really make a special yarn purchase.  I bought 9 skeins of alpaca to make myself a special, special shawl.

As she was ringing in my purchase…

I started to cry.  Shoot, I’m tearing up again.

I swear, I’ll laugh at myself later… meanwhile, seriously!  I’m crying!

This entry was posted in General, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’ll laugh at myself tomorrow

  1. Elaine says:

    Now that is something to cry about. 😦
    I’m so sorry that you are losing such a wonderful store but I’m glad that you are going to be able to make yourself a wonderful shawl out of the alpaca – one day I’d like to get my hands on some of that or some quiviut (I probably spelled that wrong but it’s the yarn spun from musk ox hair) to make something very special for myself.

  2. Iva says:

    (((hugs))) You go ahead and cry. And if you don’t laugh at yourself later, that’s okay.

  3. desia says:

    Is there nowhere you can buy your yarns now!? Hopefully you find a place soon.
    I like the new look of your blog, very simple and very pretty.

  4. Songbirdy says:

    Well, I can buy my yarns and supplies from KnitPicks.com and they do have very nice ‘stuff’ at good prices. But it just isn’t the same as touching it! Also there is speciality quilting store in town that has a very large and with very high quality yarns… however the prices are astronomical. They think it perfectly okay to sell 1 skein Jacobs Lamb wool for over $25. And there is little I can make that wouldn’t cost me at least $100 in wool!

    Where as my favourite store, called the Stitch Niche, was dedicated to ‘string’ crafts (jk!) and she had the gamut of prices and wools. She had excellent variety and prices. You could get a skein of Cascade 220 for about $5, or a wee bit more.

    Since she is closed now, I’ll share… That alpaca that I bought (9 skeins) would have cost me nearly $300, more at the other store, but she gave them to me for far less. It still came to a lot, for me… but I wanted to do that project for a long time (shawl) and put it off and well… its going to be my memory project of one awesome store, Frankie and her cat Smudge!

  5. Melanie says:

    That just stinks. 😦 I don’t think that’s an unreasonable reaction at all. (Of course, I’m a little crazy when it comes to yarn, so I might not be the best one to judge!)

    I had been without a yarn store ever since we moved here, but one recently opened in our town. Unfortunately, most of their yarn is the same sort of polyester stuff you can get at all the big box craft stores. I’ve been trying to buy up the small selection of nicer stuff even when I don’t particularly like the feel or the color – you know, just to encourage them to branch out! LOL

Leave a Reply

