Flappings and Flutterings around Birdy’s Nest

I’m going to assume that you’ve realized that life has been busy around Birdy’s Nest these past few weeks. No I haven’t been away on vacation, but I am going to go camping with my two children this weekend. We’ll be joining a group of people from our church at a camp-ground 2 hours from our house. My husband has to work. This is to be the last ‘hurrah’ before school starts next week.

Our puppy Kibbles has grown and is now about 3 times the size of my shoe. Still a slight bit smaller than our cat but with all the puppy energy. He’s getting his first professional haircut tomorrow so I’ll try and post then! Right now he’s whining on my lap because I was annoyed with him eating everything in sight while trying to blog.

We have taken the canoe out several times in the last month and are enjoying that. The dog has been canoeing over 5 times and fallen in 3 times.

I’ve biked over 760 km since the beginning of June. It isn’t uncommon for us to buy our groceries and bring them home by bike. I’m pushing the family to aim for a car-free week but they are resisting. As my mother commented, “Biking is good for your bottom-line” [pun intended!]

I got a new hair-cut. I decided that there was no point in having long hair if I never, and I mean never, wore it down. The current fashion allows me freedom to wear it down without having it on my neck. I hate having hair on my neck because I have a lot of hair and it is simply too hot. Right now the Golden Rod is blooming and I’m bleary eyed, red nosed, nose clogged and dizzy or I’d have a picture ready to post. I’ll try this afternoon but I’m not really fond of the idea of posting a picture of myself in this state!

My son has been diagnosed with ADHD and ODD. [Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder; Oppositional Defiance Disorder] Since I’ve always suspected him of having the ADHD, I can say that I’ve done nearly everything I can, at this point, to help him with this. The Doctor and I are working on a few things before we consider that it isn’t ADHD and ODD and possibly move on to something else. The doctor really thinks that he does have ADHD and not something else. I’m willing to see if that is the case but will keep on pressing until we figure out how best to help our son!

The daughter is doing well, looking forward to Ballet lessons and persistently bringing up the subject about once per hour.

Anyhow, I’ve spent nearly enough time on the computer today. I’m going to have one more cup of coffee to hopefully counteract the sleepiness of the anti-histamine and then it’s time to clean house, wash laundry and work with the kids to packing up camping gear!

TTYL and pray you are doing well!

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Flappings and Flutterings around Birdy’s Nest

  1. Jacqueline says:

    Have a great time camping! Hope you get all the answers you need, re. your son. Sounds like you’re doing all a mom is supposed to do to be a good mom.

  2. Elaine says:

    You all have been busy. I wish sometimes that we lived somewhere that allowed for riding bikes more often but that just isn’t possible around here.

    I look forward to seeing both you and the puppy with your new hair styles. 🙂

  3. Melanie says:

    You certainly have been busy! My daughter’s dance studio just started their year, and I’m so glad. She was driving me nuts sighing and pining for her ballet classes. LOL

  4. BrendaS says:

    You are a brave soul taking the kids camping by yourself…well, with others there…but without hubby. I’m not the outdoorsy type, so it would be tough for me!

    I will await the pictures of the haircut!!! Your’s of course…well, the dog’s too I guess!

    And WOW on all that biking! I’m sure it is great for the bottom-line!

Leave a Reply

