Small Providences

Some days, like on days when you simply don’t have two pennies to rub together, there is something miraculous in finding a chocolate bar hidden right down in the very bottom of one of your desk drawers!

Today has been eventful, and I’m at 3 p.m.

First thing in the morning we had the survey of the property done.  We bought ourselves a $300 pat on the back and relief from our neighbours because the survey line is precisely where my husband and I stated.  I was hoping it would bring some peace but they’ve now informed us we have to build it this weekend because they are having a party next weekend… sigh!  Anyhow…

Second thing, we found the elusive cycling shop that everyone raves about.  And it is elusive.  It is tucked behind the food bank and in a crazy little corner.  We’ve been adapting my old bike for my husband, who is 6′ 8″ tall.  But really it has brought us little success.  Essentially we were hoping to get one more year out of that bike and buy him a tall person frame bike next year.  Again, a small miracle, we walked in and they asked us if we were looking for a bike for my husband.

“Why yes!  But we likely can’t afford one till next year and were looking to see what you offered.”

“Well, we sell used bikes and new bikes.  Two weeks ago a man dropped off a bike for resale.”

“Yes…”

“How tall are you?”

So we told him.

Turns out the bike was dropped off by a man of similar height.  Turns out they want $175 for the bike.  Turns out we’ll be going tomorrow to buy my husband a bike!  My husband rode the bike for about 20 mins and said his back didn’t hurt one bit and that, my friends, is something amazing!

And last, I’ve had an appointment with our children’s new pediatrician.  He is a little hard to understand as he does carry a fairly strong accent.  But I think he is a fantastic doctor.  He very quickly clued into my son’s behaviours and made him feel very comfortable.  It took him all of 5 minutes to calm down my son and conduct a very through exam!  We then spent an additional 40 minutes talking together about my son!

I can’t even recall if I’ve ever had that much time with one of our family doctor’s in the past.

I think this doctor will work out great for my son.  He took me very seriously, and gave me a series of papers to fill out while he is on vacation.  The doctor will be gone until mid-August.  Either way, I thank God for this physician and his willingness to take on my children’s care because he’s already earned my respect!

So that’s my day so far.  Yet to come, the children are going to their friend’s for a late day visit.  Then we have supper, followed by a visit to the Arboretum, and I’m to get in some planning for Summer Camp as well.  Actually, I’m supposed to have that done.

And there are the 3 sewing client’s I’ve got waiting on me too…  Its a good thing its sunny because I need that energy boost!

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Small Providences

  1. Iva says:

    The sun gives me an energy boost, too (when it’s not blazing hot, that is). I’m glad you were able to find a doctor that seems to click with your boy. That’s so invaluable, isn’t it?

  2. Elaine says:

    What a day!!

    About the doctor…. Woo Hoo!!!

Leave a Reply

