Momentous Times!

Yesterday morning we buried my Oma. It was a hard time, especially when our son fell completely and utterly apart emotionally.

I am not an emotionally demonstrative person, and I feel a bit bad in that after awhile my son’s ‘dramatics’ actually found me highly annoyed. I was certainly concerned and so forth. And for the first hour I wasn’t annoyed, but after that I just wanted to tell him to ‘stop it!’ and could likely have thrown a temper tantrum myself.

Thankfully I had lots of help, and quite frankly my husband was definitely the point-parent in this instance. My friend Sarah also helped us immensely this weekend.

Today was Soup Sunday, the second Sunday of the month where we meet at my parent’s home. When we arrived we were greeted with the news that my brother’s wife had delivered their third child this morning! Joel Charles DeGraaf was born this morning just after 7 a.m. Yay!

What a blessing!

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Momentous Times!

  1. Congratulations, Aunt Birdy. What a sweet moment to bury your precious Oma and soon after to greet a new baby blessing!

  2. Elaine says:

    The circle of life continues.

    I’m sorry that your son had such trouble with the death of Oma. It is hard with young children to know just how they’ll react and if they really understand. My prayers will be with you and your family.

  3. celticmuse says:

    Congratulations!!!!How wonderful to be a new Auntie.

  4. heathertopia says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your Oma…like Elaine said, the circle of life continues. Congratulations on your new nephew!

    ~Hugs

Leave a Reply

