Waiting

I just thought I’d post for a minute that I am ‘on the alert’ that my Grandmother, Oma, is expected to pass away soon.

Oma is ready to be with God and her husband, Geale.

We are all very much at peace and are praying that she can be released from her body where she can’t really see, hear, or have much life as she is now.  My Oma’s family is very large and most of us have had the opportunity to visit with Oma.

Oma is constantly surrounded by a group of no less than 10 friends and family members.  There is often songs that she asks us to sing in her more lucid moments.  It really is a celebration of her last moments with us even though the shock of how sick her body looks can’t be ignored.

Oma has pneumonia and combined with her recent diabetes and all her other long standing illness and age related conditions her body is very much a shell of what she was a few years ago.

My son and daughter are her first born great-grandchildren, and today my daughter constantly asked about the woman she has been named after.  My father is her eldest son, and I am her eldest grand daughter.

We saw Oma two weeks ago on Mother’s Day and it was a beautiful visit.  I feel great peace but my children and husband are not doing so well.

Thanks, in advance.

This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Waiting

  1. Elaine says:

    I’ll be praying that your family comes to terms with Oma’s homegoing. I’ll also be praying that the passing is peaceful for all as you sing praises to the King.

  2. Bobbie says:

    Praying and ((((HUGS))))

  3. gingerporter says:

    We’ll be praying for you family….It’s hard when they don’t understand. I am glad God has given you peace and that you had a nice visit.

  4. I’ll be praying for your family. I’m thankful that you have peace and were able to have a good visit with her.

Leave a Reply

