My New Exercise Partner

This morning I said to my husband, “Can I talk to you a minute.”

Typically this isn’t received with joy by him.

I told him I had been thinking about how our son had been chased down and then jumped all over by a large Doberman on the trails a few weeks ago. Ever since, our son was really shying away from dogs. In fact near terror would more aptly describe the incident.

So I said, as much as I didn’t want to have two pets at the same time again, I felt that given our son’s overwhelming love for our neighbour’s puppy and his nearly hysterical fear of any other dogs that perhaps we should consider getting a dog sooner than later.

Well, it took my husband about two minutes to arrange to adopt a dog. I had my thoughts along the in the next few months, and he was ready yesterday.

Truthfully I’ve given this a lot of thought. The dog we’ve adopted is one that my husband originally told me about shortly after her birth last October 31st.

“Bear” is a cross from a Boston Terrier mother and a German Shepherd/Border Collie Cross.

She is about 30 lbs heavy. I’ll get pictures soon.

Oh, and “Bear” is one of those misnomers…

Tonight she was barked at by a really large dog. Shortly afterwards a woman walked by with a Pomeranian and “Bear” cowered in fear behind me.

As per our cat Nick, well… its interesting. Bear is fully okay with Nick and Nick is very curious but not willing to relinquish space in our house for Bear yet!

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My New Exercise Partner

  1. celticmuse says:

    Congratulations!!!! I hope having a dog helps him get over his fear.

  2. Elaine says:

    Dogs are great but make sure the kids are part of taking care of Bear.

Leave a Reply

