Passing it On

I’m sure that many of us have heard of the “Pass It On” movie and the principle it champions.

The notion is, in my opinion, acceptable to most of us: Christian, frugal/stewardly inclined, community building, small world championing, environmentally minded and so on.

Perhaps it takes a bit of work to strengthen your ability to give away of time, money, goods and services, but I can’t attest to that fact. I was blessed with parents who exercised this selfless giving very well. True, my mother did share with me her struggles and inner conflict but her actions always came out supporting her words. Ironically she’s shared more of this with me in my adult years because she is sometimes concerned that I give away too freely.

The truth for me is that I find that the more I give and trust God to provide for our family, the more abundantly my needs are met without effort on my part. By effort, I mean stress, anxiety and financial olympics.

This past month has been a period where our family has been on the receiving end of the pass-it-on principal far more than it has been on the giving end. It is a little hard for me to be a gracious acceptor of the gifts provided. For me it truly becomes a lesson in personal humility and a vivid awareness of how much I struggle with personal pride.

But it struck me that I can pass something on right now.

I know that I always love hearing a simple thank you, but that often most of my giving is done in ways that I don’t know the recipients. Therefore I don’t get a thank you back.

It is the words of thanks that helps me fight my inner ‘hoarder’ and allows me to let go and trust.

So I thought I’d take the time to offer a public thank you. You see, this month has been a month where we’ve been gifted in ways that don’t allow me to thank the individuals in person.

Therefore I offer my thanks here hoping that you can read my gratitude and in some way be encouraged in your own acts of kindness and continue to pass on the gifts that have been given to you.

First of all, to the lady that has consistently donated clothes to my son since my son was 18 months old, a very sincere thank you. Our son is now 8 1/2 years old. Your generosity and continued passing along of your son’s clothing has been, most likely, the largest gift of this kind to my family. You have no idea how much this gift has helped us financial, mentally, and emotionally over the years.

Several times a year a trunk load of garbage bags is delivered to our home by my father and it feels like Christmas. In the last few years you have sent along gifts of clothing from your friends and I have also been blessed with clothes. In fact, 4 summers in a row I found myself wishing for new shirts, or shorts and low and behold in the next blessing bags are the items I’ve desired in the sizes I needed.

Second, to the homeschooling mother who responded to my enquiry as to how much you wanted for the Charlotte Mason series of books with the words, “For you they are free.” Thank You! There has been much enthusiastic reading on my part today. I have felt rejuvenated in my desire to home school and feel that I can do this for all the right reasons. The reasons being #1 and #2. So thank you!

Third, to the individual who has taken upon herself to send me cards of encouragement anonymously, thank you! In this stressful month of dealing with lawyers because of the neighbour and the fence, the lawyers regarding the suit against us, and dealing with the banks and their representatives as our representative and myself seek to negotiate some sort of settlement regarding our student loans, your words of encouragement have helped me continue to function on my every day life. Your words have reminded me the real reason behind all of this ‘stuff.’ So thank you, because let me tell you it becomes very hard to see the blessings I have right in front of my face and to joyfully celebrate my husband, children, family, home, and friends. You’ve shared your life story with me and it does help to know that there is sunshine at the end of this, thank you for this gift.

And last, I don’t write these thanks and ignore the gifts of words and deeds from my friends. I hope I have done a good job in communicating to you how much I truly appreciate your time, your love and your presence in my life.

In short, combined you’ve all served to show me that there is a God of love who lives in our actions and words. Thank you!

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Passing it On

  1. Jacqueline says:

    Thank you for sharing this good news post!

  2. This is good news! Thanks for sharing your Blessings with us.

  3. Elaine says:

    It is a blessing to be on both the giving and receiving end. While we should never do good deeds for the praise we receive from man it is still so wonderful when man takes the time to say thanks and good job.

    We need to be reminded now and again that while our culture teaches us to be independent we are really interdependent and need one another.

    Thanks for how open you are willing to be to your friends.

Leave a Reply

