First Paperwork Recieved Today

Well I got the first letters today.  Apparently as the owner of the car I am also being sued.

There were two things that jumped out at me right away, not that I think they have a huge bearing on the case.  First, I am fairly sure they have the time incorrect by a few hours.  Second, they have my husband’s name incorrect in one place and correct farther along in the letter.  They also state we hit them at a high rate of speed, but it was under 30 kms per hour.

Ah, lets see, the injuries include headaches, loss of mobility of back and neck, short temper, fear of driving (hey, I can document that too!), loss of concentration, anger, intolerance, impatience, and a loss of desire to socialize.

Oh, and the family is suing us as well.  I’m not sure if it is a joint or two separate cases, either way… sigh!

I’ll just cling to the passage I read and studied this morning.  I’ll include my ‘hybrid’ of 4 translations below.

Psalm 138

I give you thanks, O Lord, with all my heart; before the “gods” I will sing your praise.

I kneel in worship facing your holy temple and will praise your name for your unfailing love and your faithfulness, for you have magnified your word about all your name.

In the day when I cried out, you answered me, you encourage me by giving me the strength I need.

Every king of the earth praise you Lord, when they hear the words of your mouth.

Yes, they sing of the ways of the Lord, for the glory of the Lord is great.

Though the Lord is exaulted, he looks kindly on the lowly, but he keeps his distance from the proud.

Though I am surrounded by troubles, you stretch out your hand against the anger of my foes; with your other hand you save me.

The Lord will work out his plans for my life.  Your mercy, O Lord, endures forever; don’t abandon me, for you made me.

[TNIV, LT, Message, NKJV]

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to First Paperwork Recieved Today

  1. celticmuse says:

    I’m so sorry, will be praying. Personally I hate people like this.

  2. appliejuice says:

    I am sorry. 😦 It doesn’t sound right.

  3. Elaine says:

    I hope that all of this works out for you. How come the insurance companies aren’t handling this?

    Hi Elaine,

    Our insurance company is handling our side of this, however the other driver wasn’t carrying insurance and wasn’t driving his own car. Hence he isn’t insured and this is a civil suit (?). I’m not completely sure of the legal details, however, I do know right now we are okay… so to speak. The next concern comes with the amount we are being sued. We only have so much coverage. If there is a difference I guess they can get in line with the government who’s collecting our Student Loans!

    Roberta

Leave a Reply

