When Kids Do Listen

The other day I was talking with a friend.  She had a very newborn baby and was expressing how frustrated she was because she couldn’t get anything done around the house or anywhere.  In the course of my conversation I said something like, “Well I think the key to loosing your frustration is to lower your expectations for the day.  Then you’ll find joy at the things that you do get done and not be so frustrated at the list of things that you didn’t get done.”

So yesterday, I was talking to my son:

“I’m not asking for miracles and signs!  I’m telling you to finish cleaning your room!”

Says the boy:

“Well, I think this would be an excellent time for you to start lowering your expectations Mom!”

This entry was posted in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to When Kids Do Listen

  1. Elaine says:

    Ooooo Boy!!

    What was your response to that statement?

  2. Desia says:

    Smart boy, eh?
    I’m just looking in quickly, haven’t been online for quite some time, will be back next week to read what you’ve been blogging.

  3. fourhisglory says:

    Kids and their responses. What can you do with them? 🙂

  4. He really put that phrase into context didn’t he. What was your response?

  5. songbirdy says:

    First of all I had to stop myself from laughing out loud. I right away knew from where he lifted the phrase.

    But then I didn’t do much anything, I just looked at him and pointed at his door. Later on I set the timer because it was taking a ridiculous amount of time. We’ve been working with the Magic 1, 2, 3 method, so less talking is much more effective!

    You can ask my friends that can see my house, the kids don’t have a lot of toys in their room and it isn’t unreasonable for me to expect them to be able to have it ready for vacuuming in under 30 minutes.

  6. appliejuice says:

    LOL Smart boy! I do like how you handled it. 🙂

  7. tessofthebellgrades says:

    Man, boys are priceless. There wasn’t a lot you could say to that! 😆

Leave a Reply

