Food Experiment

I conducted a bit of an experiment today.

I’ve been reading and flipping through Jessica Seinfeld’s Deceptively Delicious Cookbook since Christmas.  I bought it at Sam’s Club because I get a Garden Fresh box monthly and the squashes always leave me a little puzzled.  We are not plain squash eating kind of folks.

While I appreciated the concept of her cookbook, the actual preparing of the squashes prior to the cooking kind of left me in a bind.  I found it hard to find a time to cook them without having the children around!

So today, I sent them outside in the very cold weather and cooked squashes.  I had a total of 6 to cook, I still have to get to the pumpkin.  Perhaps this weekend for that one.

Once they were cooked, I used a scoop and measured them into muffin tins in 1/4 cup measurements.  Once frozen, I popped them out and into bags and into the freezer.

I decided to try one of the baking recipes and made her coffee cake recipe.  It was very good.  In fact my husband ate half the recipe.  My kids ate their pieces and have bugged me all night for another piece.

I also made her  Macaroni and Cheese and that was also very well received.

Here is the ironic part.  We went to an Indian store.  I bought some “Mishti” or sweets/desserts for supper dessert.  I cut one up into small pieces so that the children could try it before they got a large one.  These desserts are so full of sugar it oozes out of the sweetmeat when you touch it.

My kids?

Wanted another piece of Butternut Coffee Cake instead.  The one with hardly any sugar and a good helping of vegetable.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Food Experiment

  1. appliejuice says:

    ooo, that sounds good. I have never heard of that cookbook. I wonder if our library has it. What else are you going to make? 😀

  2. appliejuice says:

    I checked the library. They have several, but they are all checked out and I am the sixth person on the waiting list. LOL

  3. songbirdy says:

    I am planning on trying out several more of these recipes.

    The thing holding me back was preparing the ‘puree’ first.

    It was kind of funny this morning at breakfast. The kids finished off the first of the 9×9 pans of the coffee cake. Eldest said, “Mom, in this part here, its healthy isn’t it? What’s in it?”

    Me: “Um, well there’s egg, sugar, flour, sour cream, buttermilk… all kinds of stuff to make it taste good.”

    Him: “Oh, so it isn’t healthy then! Right on! Can I have more?”

  4. Elaine says:

    You go girl!!
    Making something they prefer over a sweet dessert and it’s good for them…..Now that is success!!

  5. This sounds great. I will have to see if the library has this book.
    Pumpkin bread/muffins is a favorite around here.

  6. appliejuice says:

    “Oh, so it isn’t healthy then! Right on! Can I have more?”

    LOL I’ll keep your secret. 😉

Leave a Reply

