Two Christmas Knits

Here are two of my Christmas knits.  The mitts aren’t too spectacular and the picture is rather lame as well.  The bear, well, I modified the pattern because the ears in the pattern didn’t seem to secure for a toddler.  My modified ones make the thing look ugly, in my opinion, but I guess my niece liked the item… so!

Mitts

Bear

Bear2

Niece and Bear

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Two Christmas Knits

  1. Melanie says:

    Those are great, Roberta! I love the bear’s fuzzy body. I know what you mean about securing the ears. I’m always afraid little pieces like ears and tails will come off while little people are playing with them.

  2. songbirdy says:

    Thank you Melanie!

    Yes, the pattern called for a double strand and the daughter pointed out that bears must be fuzzy. So I ran a strand of something eyelash like… That bear took way to long to knit and I did drop 4 stitches which were so difficult to pull up once discovered.

    That eyelash stuff is crap! Oh well, its the child that counts!

  3. Melanie says:

    Ha! I hate knitting with that eyelash stuff. It is indeed crap. I made four scarves out of it for little people one year, and I’ve sworn off it forever. I found a button online somewhere that said “fun fur is muppet murder.” LOL The little girls do like it, though. 🙂

  4. gingerporter says:

    I won’t even attempt to knit the eyelash stuff. It is great for crocheting scrunchies and hair bands though. That is what I ended up doing with it. It made really nice scrunchies. I used the headbands that have the teeth (metal ones) and made headbands.

    I love looking at your knitting Birdy….I really really need you as a neighbor….LOL.

  5. Great work, Birdy! I like your bear, he is cute. Since I am not much of a knitter I can’t attest to working with the fuzzy yarns. I can make dishcloths, that is about it. Dd loves to knit scarves with the fun fur.

Leave a Reply

