Krista Marie Dekker

My husband’s cousin’s name was Krista Marie Dekker.

She died last week Friday, in the early evening. She was 27 years old.

She suffered from Huntington’s Chorea. It is a hard disease and is directly linked to a genetic mutation. Her mother died from the disease as well when she was a very young girl. Her father has lost two to this disease. The difference being that Krista had the Juvenile version of the disease. The symptoms progress much more rapidly in the Juvenile version.

I met Krista in the Spring, just over 10 years ago. She, and her older and younger sister, Joshua’s sister and I would often sit together at family gatherings and talk.

One thing we all talked about a lot was her faith. She did have a very strong faith, and it saw her through a very hard life. I won’t go into details, but this family had more than its share of suffering and tragic events. In fact, they aren’t over yet and more will come.

Anyhow, I wish I had something to say that isn’t trite sounding and something that we all know. But I don’t. I’m going to miss Krista. Its going to be hard for her father, Jack, and her sisters, Janice and Angela. If anything their lives are going to really, really change now. Both girls moved home a few years ago to keep their sister out of institutional care and shared the last years of their sister’s life as one unit.

But now one is engaged, and the other in a relationship. Both have fledgling careers. Their father looks like he might be ready to marry for a third time.

In all, I pray they will be able to grasp Joy within their hands soon. A lasting Joy on this earth. I am not hear to gossip but if there was a family that have earned the right to really joy by trial, this would be a prime candidate family! Enough said on that!

Krista… it was not easy to watch as your casket was placed on your grave site. To see your father and sisters left behind. To watch your sisters leave your grave to walk to their mother’s grave. Thank you for the gifts you left with us, and I hope to see you sitting still at Jesus’s side one day!

This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Krista Marie Dekker

  1. tessofthebellgrades says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. Hugs and prayers.

  2. Such a huge loss for all of you. I know Krista will be missed greatly by all of you. HUGS!!!

  3. celticmuse says:

    I am so very sorry. At least there is some comfort in her faith and that she is resting in Jesus arms. Not much for the living to hold on to though is it?

  4. Rev. Dr. T. Seney says:

    I am Janice’s fiance’s father (Paul Seney is my son). I attended Krista’s funeral and was impressed by the service delivered by the two pastors. I only met Krista twice, but I saw, in her, a courage that penetrated and overwhelmed her condition. As one who has beaten death, I know that God has an appointed time for us to leave this painful life and enter His presence. My daily pain pales in comparison to the pain she suffered. The resurrection is our hope, as it was Krista’s. God Bless.

Leave a Reply

