Putting one foot in front of the other…

I am nearly at the end of the week.   My weeks always start of fairly low key and with little activity.  By the time we hit Wednesday I am starting to feel run off my feet.  Thursday gives a bit of respite but Friday and Saturday leave me wishing they were just over.

I distinctly remember many days as a parent of toddlers where I was just happy that it was the end of the day.  I still get nights where I sit in my chair knitting and telling my children to keep their behinds in their room because I’ve put them to bed and I am done with them for the day.

There is something to be said that 90% of parental success comes from just being there.  I’d like to think that I have some presence and that is why our children listen to me and not as much to my husband.  But the truth of the matter is, I’ve got a history with them.  They and I have logged many, many hours together.  Through thick and thin… 😆  Okay… too maudlin!

As I sit here tonight trying to think of something insightful and meaningful but find myself grasping at straws, it struck me that I’ve progressed from celebrating the fact that I’ve made it through the day to the fact that I now look at weeks.  I’m celebrating each day, yes, but I’m thinking in weeks.

I find that kind of neat!  And I suspect there will be a time when I’ll be thinking, boy I am so glad that month is over and rejoice in the fact that I’m thinking in months not weeks.  Right now I can grasp months, for example October is our busiest month in regards to birthdays, anniversaries, and other celebrations.  But the unit of time I think of most is the week.

As in:

“What am I doing this week?”

“Whom do I have to see this week?”

“With whom do I have appointments this week?”

“What do I have to do to make this week run smoothly?”

“What am I needing to anticipate this coming week?”

“What are our goals for school this week?”

And so forth.  Which is definitely up from, “Whew… I changed 10 diapers today!”

So while I am mentally tired tonight and not really looking forward to sitting down with a financial adviser tonight, I am happy that life is progressing.  And I’m getting there, one foot in front of the other!

This entry was posted in Musings, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Putting one foot in front of the other…

  1. Elaine says:

    I remember the days when I thought in days as well. I’ve moved to Weeks and sometimes it is months. You will get there but there are regrets because the have also moved and learned more about time. Trust me they grow way to fast and it won’t be long before you’re dealing w/a boy who wants to drive you everywhere just to get some driving experience in.

  2. gingerporter says:

    I hadn’t looked at it that way for awhile. I guess I hadn’t realized we had slipped into the one week at a time from the one day at time point. Cool..:-)

Leave a Reply

