Bread Machine Doughnuts

Another recipe with tradition.  This is the recipe I make each Christmas eve.  Better than Crispy Creme Doughnuts in my opinion!

Bake: in deep fryer, very quick, at hottest oil

Assemble in Bread machine pan, use dough setting:

3/4 cup water

2 large eggs

4 tbsp vegetable oil

1 tsp salt

1/3 cup sugar

3 1/4 cup flour

4 tsp yeast

After the dough cycle is finished, remove and quickly roll out and cut into doughnut shapes.  Set aside on cookie tray, well spaced and covered with tea towel.  Let rise in oven with light turned on for 30 minutes.  Fry in oil set to #3 (#4 being the highest setting).

Glaze:

3 cups icing sugar

1 tbsp butter

1/2 tsp flavour (you choose I like orange)

sprinkles.

Glaze by popping the very hot doughnuts directly into the glaze.  Carefully pull out and dip into sprinkles or use a shaker to cover the doughnuts in sprinkles.

These are very labour intensive.  But they are worth the work, once a year!

This entry was posted in Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bread Machine Doughnuts

  1. marvin smith says:

    I am a fairly decent cook and I have been trying different bread machine doughnuts. This recipe is the worst thing I have ever tasted. I fried 6 and threw the rest away without even frying them.

  2. songbirdy says:

    😆 I guess I’ll just have to make them again sometime soon and include pictures! They tasted great the last time I made them, this past Christmas.

    I could imagine some variation via bread machine and am sorry you’ve had such a bad result!

    Cheers!

  3. Leah says:

    Thanks for sharing this recipe. I made them in a Breville ultimate and they were fab. cheers.

  4. Peggy says:

    These are fantastic – thankyou

Leave a Reply

