Beef Stroganoff Shepherd’s Pie

From Canadian Living.

Oven Temperature: 400 F

Time: about 20 min if the ingredients are already warm, otherwise drop the temperature to 350 and bake at least 45 minutes!

This recipe is one of my absolute favourites.  My family kind of humours me and eats it but the kids do find the flavour a little strong at times.  Simply because I get a little carried away about the horseradish sauce!

This is one of the recipes I often use for dinner parties.  It is a nice all in one type of dish that I can refrigerate and have prepared in advance.  A really good potluck dinner recipe as well!

Brown/Scramble fry:

1 lb extra lean ground beef

Add and fry until mushroom liquid is absorbed.  If you are impatient do what my Uncle did for me one day, pour off the extra liquid… he was impatient too!

6 cups sliced mushrooms (this works out to about 2 of the 8 oz store packages)

1 diced onion

3 cloves minced garlic

1 tbsp paprika

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

Add:

1 cup beef stock

1 tbsp wine vinegar

1/2 crushed caraway seeds (I do this occasionally)

Once well mixed, remove from heat and add the following:

1/2 cup sour cream

2 tbsp flour

1 tbsp horseradish sauce

Put into the bottom of a casserole dish.  Layer with peas or carrots.  Then a layer of mashed potatoes.

This entry was posted in Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Beef Stroganoff Shepherd’s Pie

  1. Horseradish sauce–what is that? We just buy horseradish in a jar from the deli.

  2. songbirdy says:

    I guess this is what I call it…

    Its that stuff that is for spreading on sandwiches. Looks like thick mayonnaise. I think Kraft has a version. I don’t think it really matters what kind you use!

  3. Oh, okay–I had no idea it was that easy to find at the store. I have a couple of horseradish lovers here, maybe they would like that too.

  4. I looked it up on the Canadian Living site and their version just calls for straight horseradish, so I guess we could use either.

Leave a Reply

