Banana Nut Bread ~ for bread machine

http://www.recipekitchen.com

I have not made this in my most recent bread maker, but this was the recipe I’d pull out when I just didn’t have time to make traditional banana bread from my yucky bananas.  I used to freeze them but then I’d end up with a freezer full of gross bananas.  So I found this recipe one day and I do this instead!

Insert into machine pan in whatever order is closest to a recipe from your bread machine:

1/2 cup water

2 medium sized ripe bananas, mash with a fork in the pan

1 tsp salt

3 tbsp dry milk powder

2 tbsp packed brown sugar

4 tsp butter (1 tbsp + 1 tsp)

3 1/2 – 4 cups flour

2 tsp yeast

Optional:

1/2 cup nuts

This makes a banana flavoured bread.  The texture is not like the quick bread banana loafs that use baking powder and baking soda for leavening.

It is a really nice change and I used to often send this bread in my son’s school lunches.

This entry was posted in Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

