Peanut Butter Cookies

From the Best Ever Cookie Cook Book

note: this works great in a ‘ratchet’ style cookie press.

Oven Temp: 350 F

Time 10 – 15 mins

Makes: 2 1/2 dozen

I simply love these made on a stone.  Pampered Chef sells stones for baking, but I have one that I bought for $10 at Specialty store.  Now that my stone is conditioned… works great except you can’t use the cookie press.  The cookie press makes for rapid cookie making and… allows you to instantly portion size your cookies.  Portion control means leaner waist and allows you to make the most of your baking efforts.  You’ll eat less, make more cookies and have cookies in the house longer.  Or so the theory goes.

In reality, you’ll have to fight off the family longer… but then again… its only because they love you, err, okay they love your cookies!

Cream together:

1/2 cup butter

1/2 cup brown sugar (always the GOLDEN brown sugar in this house!)
1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 cup peanut butter

1 small egg

Measure directly into mixer bowl, then turn on your mixer slowly!:

1 cup flour

1/4 tsp salt (if not using salted butter, I always omit)

1/4 tsp baking soda

pinch of ground nutmeg (key ingredient!)

This entry was posted in Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. Elaine says:

    These sound really good!
    I may have to make some…gotta figure out an event to make them for so that they won’t be staying here at my house, I’ll be the one eating them all. 😆

    OK, I’ll bite:
    Birdy says;”Now that my stone is conditioned… works great except you can’t use the cookie press.”

    Why not?

  2. songbirdy says:

    It is more to do with the fact that the stone is hot, hot, hot when using it with baking and it stays hot. When the stone wasn’t conditioned, the dough would stick to it a bit even when hot and you could press right onto the stone for the second batch.

    Now, if I try to press a cookie onto the hot stone, it just lifts right back up. Nothing to say about the fact that I don’t want to touch the stone with my plastic cookie press!

    But if I use cookie sheets I have two. They cool down quickly enough between batches so… its no issue to press on the next batch of cookies.

    Yet, I love the way the stone bakes peanut butter cookies… so I use parchment paper. I cut off two lengths of parchment to the stone size. The parchment lays flat enough on the counter, I’ll press cookies onto one piece while the other is baking. Then I slide off the hot piece of parchment and cookies onto a cooling rack. Slide the next parchment onto the stone.

    Once I can remove the cookies from the first parchment, I then put that paper on the counter and press on to it…

    KWIM?

Leave a Reply

