Oliebollen

Karen Haigh via the ‘net’

makes about 5 dozen lumps of yum!
The story of this recipe is as follows… I love Olibollen for New Year’s Day.  I’ve been taught it is a Dutch tradition.

Once  married I’ve tried, and tried, and tried to make the Olibollen so many times and had no success.  I even convinced my husband’s Grandmother, maker of amazing Olibollen, to please make them in November with Grandpa measuring every single ingredient.

I then tried, for 4 successive years to repeat Grandma’s recipe with simply spectacular failures.

I then spent 6 years trying various recipes, some begged off of ladies at church after tasting their Oliebollen with simply no luck!

Then last year my Google search landed me at a site with the recipe.   This is the one!  It works for me, and yummy.  Luckily, although I am craving these right now… I know that the recipe won’t work… the magic of New Year’s Eve means that this won’t work until that magical moment!

Method: warm the milk, mix the yeast into the dry and then add all the other ingredients.   Cover and let it rise, minimum of 1 1/2 hours or over-night.

Use a deep fryer (to match my results) heated to the highest heat, use a scoop (about 2 tbsps) and drop the batter into the oil but not from a great height!

They fry rather quickly, so be ready to flip over the dough balls.  Work with maybe only 4 at a time, or with two cooks but then be prepared to singe each other. 😉

Serve with small bowls of icing sugar.  Dip the warm, fresh Oliebolen into the icing sugar and eat!  It is normal to accidentally inhale the icing sugar and have to cough repeatedly, so don’t eat too close to your neighbour!

Ingredients: (do the wet/dry thing!)

Wet:

3 1/2 cups milk

2 eggs

1/2 tsp vanilla

Dry:

1 tbsp quick yeast

3 tbsp sugar

1 tsp salt

4 cups flour

Mix into batter:

2 cups raisins

3 diced apples

-Growing up I had them with only raisins, but I found so many recipes with apples that I ended up doing this and love them like this.  Note: to be quick, I halve my apples, then remove the seeds and stem.  Then I grate them with a cheese grater directly over the batter.  Once I’ve finished the apple grating I toss my pre-measured raisins into the bowl and mix into the batter with maybe 5 swift folds.

You will find that the batter grows quickly, so use a very voluminous bowl!

This entry was posted in Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oliebollen

  1. Elaine says:

    I’ve never heard of these. I wonder if any one up here has made them so I can try them before attempting them myself.

  2. Marilyn says:

    I am first generation Canadian Dutch and my paternal Grandmother made Olibollen for the traditional New Years Eve Celebration. However, because the Holidays are so very busy I started doing the Olibollen on Christmas Eve right after returning from the early Christmas Eve Mass almost 30 years ago.
    With Gran and Boompa now gone, contineauing this tradition makes me feel close to my grandparents again. As if Gran were right at my elbow gently encouraging and Boompa wondering if they were ready yet.
    A wonderful way to pass along a tradition and enjoy family and friends.
    The best of the season to you and yours.

Leave a Reply

