Aunt Agnes’ Jan Hagel

This is a recipe that we had a lot overseas.  There are few ingredients and the taste is yummy.  Only… Mom initially copied the bake time wrong.  Our cook would always over cook this recipe and we’d call them ‘Rock Cookies.’  The sugar would kind of crystalize and the brothers and I would simply love getting a small piece of Rock Cookie and sneak off to the roof of the house and chew away 😀

Note: it is important to slice these cookies almost immediately out of the oven.  Since I don’t cut in my cookie trays, I line the jelly roll pan I use to bake these in with parchment paper.  Then I slip out the lot onto the counter and use a pizza cutter to quickly cut the squares.  Tradition says you cut off 1 cm around the edges.  makes for ideal Rock cookie crumbs.  While the pan is hot, I quick rinse with soap and water and rinse.  Place it on the drying rack and it will dry itself!

Oven temp: 350 F

Bake time: 15 mins give or take.  There will be slight puffing and colouration on the edges.  20 – 25 mins for Rock Cookies (yes, I do this intentionally sometimes 😀 )

This is a REALLY stiff dough.  My Kitchen Aide Mixer can mix this, but if the butter is really fridge fresh (which it always is with me) the mixer lets you know that sometimes… it would rather a softer butter!

Dry ingredients:  mix and set to side.  Use bowl other than mixer bowl!

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt (omit if using salted butter!)

3 cups flour

2 tsp cinnamon

Cream then add dry:

1/2 lb (1 cup) hard margarine or butter (butter yields a softer cookie)

2 cups brown sugar

1 whole egg

Once all mixed up, press into a jelly roll pan.  Here is the key to making these my Aunt Agnes’ Jan Hagel.  Get a small cup with a touch of milk in it.  Use a milk dipped spoon to smooth out your dough.  Then use a milk dipped fork and the tines of the fork to draw vertical and horizontal lines onto the dough.  I start lengthwise and draw my first set of tine marks about 1 finger width from the edge.  Then I leave about 1 fork width and draw the next set, right across the pressed dough.  Then I repeat widthwise across the dough.  Makes a nice pattern.  Makes it taste better… 🙂

Bake and enjoy.  Goes great with a glass of milk!

This entry was posted in Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

