Apple Tart

This recipe is from my mother-in-law.  My children really do love this recipe but I find it cloyingly sweet.  I’ve yet to fiddle with the sugar levels, but will.  Also… I find you end up with double the amount of crust needed, so I’d recommend making two 8×8 or 9×9 pans and simply double the amount of apples.

But to each their own.  I’ve only made this once, and eaten it once at MIL’s as well.

Oven: 350 – 375 F

Bake time: not listed and I think about 40 minutes at the lower temp.  I’ll have to try this again and post it for you.  Essentially you want the crust looking slightly browned.  Remember things continue to bake for about 10 minutes when pulled out of the oven so allow some room for your baking to continue to brown!!!

Dough:

1 cup butter

2 1/2 cup btter

1 cup sugar

1 egg

Mix together well to form dough.  The dough is differently textured from most, you kind of press it into the pan.  Press the dough up the sides of the pan to form an edge for your tart.  Note, this does work well in a pie plate!

Reserve some dough to make lattice type top over the apples in the end.  Use a well floured counter top and rolling pin to make your strips.  Lay them off to the side.

Apple centre:

4 thin sliced apples, peeled or not.  Some apples, Granny Smith for example, have peels that stay very hard when cooked… peel those apples.  Some, like mutsu, have peels that soften.  Either way, I typically peel my apples!

1 tsp cinnamon

3/4 cup brown sugar.

Mix and toss the apples.  Insert into your crust, top with lattice and bake!

I personally think I will make these changes, but have yet to ‘field test’ the changes:

Split the dough in two first.  Line two 8 x 8 pans OR 2 pie plates OR combination.

omit sugar from apple mix.  at least double the amount of apples (since you’re filling two).  I’d likely add more cinnamon, but toss the apples with 1 tbsp of lemon concentrate first.

Also… I sometimes don’t bother with a lattice top in things like this.  I have a series of small, small cookie cutters.  I’ll press/roll out my dough and then cut out lots of small shapes.  Leaves in the fall, hearts in the spring, stars in the winter, and whatever in the summer.  I just ‘artfully’ toss them over the top of the pie and it looks great and takes 1/2 the amount of work as a lattice top and you don’t have issues with tearing strips.  Something that you will have with this dough!

This entry was posted in Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

