A Flylady Reboot

My husband’s company has restarted the Whips Department after shutting down for 3 weeks to install new equipment.  The Company has a huge contract for the next 10 years with a certain other company and in order to fill the orders my husband’s company is in the process of revamping its entire Whips Department.

Before the 3 week shut down the husband was working 7 days a week, and averaging 70 hours each week.  For 3 weeks we had him on days.  Basically for the first time in over 7 years.  The kids and I were discombobulated by this turn of events.

Frequently during the week I could tell my husband wasn’t pleased with things either.  His main comment was that I was so cold to him!  Once he pointed it out I pointed out the fact that we are, quite simply, not used to having him there and having to do things ourselves.  For the first week I tried to have him participate in our routines which fell flat so I switched to a “well we’ve got to do this anyways so we’ll just do it!” attitude.  That would be when the “cold” comments came.

This served to have me do some ‘inner’spection.  Not about the marriage because I’ve already been there and done that, but rather about the cogs and gears that run this family.

Basically I know that I am, around the house, the driving force.  Myself tends to dictate how well things go and don’t go.  Days that I am battling the pain issues, those are days we are all unhappy.  The cliche has a ring of truth!

When I quit my job, I seemed to have a really hard time finding my routines.  At first I put them off because I knew we were going to be home schooling in a few months and that I’d have to readjust then.

Then I just became so obsessed with the fun of planning for home school I put off firming up my routines.

Then I put them off because we were buying a house.

Well that one just went on and on and on.  7 months later I could say we were going to move.

Once we were moved I put it off because we were not ready to set up routines yet.

I most certainly put it off while the hubby was home because we knew this was very temporary.

Lots of procrastination!  A whole 1 1/4 year’s worth!  I have been feeling increasingly stressed.  Which always serves to make me ‘belittle’ myself in my mind.  I used to work, have a gleaming house (after 3 years of Flylady my style, not before), and cart children here there, knit up a storm, keep all my scrapbooks up to date.  Now I can hardly do “x” aren’t I pathetic?

Sigh, I am very good with language and I can really give myself a good verbal lashing!

Now is the time and the last two days I’ve been hard at work on establishing routines.  I can do this a lot more rapidly since I’ve 5 years of working this ‘system’ to fall back on.  I wouldn’t say all of my routines have fallen away, but they definitely need revamping since they are no longer working for me and I know that so I don’t work them either!

I will post my ‘stuff’ later on as this is just an introduction to the subject here.  I know some of my friends Fly, other’s don’t and others have never heard of “Flylady.”

On a last note: for the record, my husband’s shift is being arbitrarily changed and he will start a new shift in November of 11 p.m. till 7 a.m, instead of 7 p.m. till 3:30 a.m..  He is being made the Lead Hand of the shift and will have 2 co-workers who are very new to the company working under him.  So I guess I could have an excuse to procrastinate some more because we are going to have to change our lives around again.  But I think I’ve done that well enough for now!

For the Record: I think I’ll like this shift better than the other.  (for the first time in years I will have the opportunity to get out at night!)

This entry was posted in Frugal, General, Musings, Parenting, School. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Flylady Reboot

  1. Elaine says:

    I hope that this new schedule will work for all of you. It is difficult to have hubby home when you’re not used to it.

  2. songbirdy says:

    I figured you’d understand Elaine…

    (btw, you’re avatar is missing your dog! I had a triple look 😉 )

  3. Desia says:

    I really appreciate how you are so transparent about your life! I enjoyed the comment you left about being Fresian, very interesting. I would like to know more about them some time.
    Good luck with the routines.

  4. I know what you mean about being out of whack with your routines. It happens to me every time we move…about the time we really get ourselves organized and into a routine, it is time to prepare for a move and start over again. We are here for 3 more years so it gives us more time to be “established”, but I know it will happen in due time.
    I’m glad you are excited about Dh’s shift change. I hope you are able to get away sometimes w/o the children.

Leave a Reply

