Confession Time

I thought it was time for me to do a little confessing. In the past I’ve read other blogger’s posts about why they blog and the ulterior motives for blogging. Both the motives known and those more ‘subconscious’ motives.

While I have opinions on that subject, my purpose for writing this confession lays along the lines that it is easy in a blog to create a reality that is a falsehood. By simply omitting pertinent facts, I can simply allow things to appear perfect.

There can be very good reasons for doing this act of omission. Sometimes reality is too real and a person must have some element of imagination, creativity and beauty in their daily surrounds and lives in order to face the fact that they don’t have a good and perfect world. So, if creating a blog world that is closer to perfection helps I am okay with this tendency.

In regards to the subject to follow, I was tempted to not write something. After all, I had spoken so passionately about my feelings on this subject. I would like to emphatically state that I still feel just as passionately about the subject and I haven’t changed my mind on the subject either.

Ah, and now I have annoyed you long enough.

[Edited to add: You might want to read this post first! Dishwasher!]

Today I had my husband go out first thing in the morning and buy another nozzle for the kitchen sink that allowed me to use our dishwasher once again.

In some ways, I distinctly feel like I have failed. In other ways, not a single bit. There were a hundred reasons that this was the right choice to make today and that is where I am going to leave it.

I’m sure I’d say why if you ask, I tend to go on and on like that! But it was the right choice for our family. I’d even go so far to say it was the right choice for my marriage and not be facetious.

But there you have it. After a whole summer of not using the dishwasher, it is connected. And, I’m going to bed tonight with a very clean counter. Something this somewhat professional cook loves, loves, loves!

This entry was posted in General, Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Confession Time

  1. Melanie says:

    I’m don’t quite understand why there would be such emotional upheaval over repairing a dishwasher, but hey! You have a working dishwasher now! Woo-hoo!!

  2. Elaine says:

    Good for you!
    Sometimes we have to decide what is more important in our family and home, it’s not the same for every family.

    So I applaud you for your decision to get the dishwasher connected. πŸ™‚

  3. songbirdy says:

    πŸ˜† the dishwasher wasn’t broken, but I made a HUGE production of never ever wanting a dishwasher again. So I am, essentially eating crow!

    I have a blog entry back there about my obsession with the dishwasher. My opinions stated there stand but… I had to be practical about other things and they trumped my dishwasher sentiments!

  4. Melanie says:

    Oh! I went and found the other post, and now I understand! πŸ˜†

    It’s funny how we seize on an idea and don’t want to let go, isn’t it? I feel that way about our microwave. To me, it isn’t worth giving up counter space for, but The Man loves it so there it sits. And I get irritated about it nearly every single day!

  5. songbirdy says:

    πŸ˜‰ Melanie,

    I think we’d get along just fine… πŸ˜†

    Hope you don’t mind the other!

  6. Desia says:

    At first glance I also didn’t understand why it was such a big deal for you, but now I do! You made the right choice, if it is for marriage and family (and cleancounters too)!

  7. Meredith says:

    I understand!

    I think it’s good for all of us to “eat crow” sometimes. It keeps us humble : )

    I am very grateful for my first dishwasher in this house. We’re a small enough family that I don’t use it very often, but it does enable me to use “real” dishes when we have company, instead of being tempted by paper.

  8. songbirdy says:

    Meredith~

    about the dishes… I used to get all sorts of flack for insisting on having 20 place settings. Then for insisting on using those dishes instead of paper at parties.

    Originally I did it because I wanted to for the environment, now it helps financially too!

  9. tessofthebellgrades says:

    Now I get why there are so many recipes posted in the blog now. A somewhat professional cook *should* have a dishwasher, or at least a couple of very reliable kitchen hands.

    -Bekki.

Leave a Reply

