Randomness

Random thoughts here, I’d like to be cohesive but that is not going to be happening.  I have decided to write less as apparently I am in a series of weeks here where I don’t personally feel I have blog worthy news and yet I don’t want all of you to ‘go away.’

I’ve been getting busier and busier.  It isn’t a bad thing, but it all feels so very unorganized.  First I did get the job sitting a child after school.  This is a female child two weeks older than my daughter and this is a fabulous thing for my daughter.

I took this to ‘earn some money’ but I make $32 a week doing this so it isn’t really for that reason.

Then there is the weekly house cleaning I am doing for my mother.  This is something that I don’t know how it is going to go.  My mother likes her house to be “Better Homes and Gardens” Magazine layout look alike.  And it is, even when I was living at home.  She was extremely hard to clean for while I lived at home but has shown some relaxation and hasn’t critiqued me.

Yet, their house is 3 times the square footage of mine and she thinks I can clean the house basically in 2 1/2 hours.  I have, but I have not been doing this to the standards she taught me.  Basically this is good for a quick dust and floor mopping/sweeping/vacuuming.

She bought the used curriculum for me so I am currently paying her off in trade, but in the past she has paid me fairly well so I am guessing I am to earn about $30 per 2 1/2 hours of cleaning.

Then there is the latest thing that I’ve landed with just kind of because I was standing there and didn’t think quick enough to say no.  It looks like I am now a paid staff member of the local school board and am the Lunch Hour Supervisor.  This is approximately 1 hour a day for about $55 per week less taxes.

The thing that gets me is that my husband thinks this is all GREAT!  But essentially I’ve chopped up my day into very random sections.  I’ve got the morning.  Then am gone from 11:45 a.m. till 12:45 p.m.  Then I’ve got till about 3:25 p.m. at which point I go to pick up the after school child on Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Fridays.  Next, every Friday I have to go out between the two things and clean my mother’s house!

All for the luxurious pay of likely $100 per week once I’ve paid my taxes.

And I could have just driven the school bus for $700 a month less taxes.

The following tidbit on the new tonight really seemed to cap my meandering thoughts on this randomness and money… Apparently if you take the national averages of what a Canadian and the American citizens pay for gas you will find that Canadians pay about 30 cents more per litre than the American.

Don’t even get me started about the taxes!

This entry was posted in General, Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Randomness

  1. lovingewe says:

    Roberta

    Just thought I would let you know that cleaning a house here in Ontario for just basic cleaning is $75.00 for 2 1/2 hours work. I know its family and all but if “mom” was to hire someone that would be the going rate. Cleaning oven, blinds, spring cleaning is extra. Just thought you would like to know.

  2. Elaine says:

    Sounds like you are quite busy.

    I don’t always have something interesting to blog about either but that’s usually when I find the interesting news stories to put in my blog or I ad some of the funnies that I get in my email.

  3. gingerporter says:

    I think we should avoid taxes…..I know what you pay compared to me and it makes me cringe…

Leave a Reply

