Books, Books, Books…

Have you seen this place yet?

Library Thing

Or how about this place?

GuruLib

Both are places where you can create a virtual library of the books in your home.

I am thinking this is going to help me with planning my Home School.

I did in fact get the lot of books. I gave her two choices, since I didn’t have the cash handy because of buying my Grandfather’s furniture. My mother, for whom I clean house, offered me a ‘pay advance’ so I could pay her a certain amount, OR I would pay her the amount she wanted but in instalments. She took the lump sum.

That was nice since in the long run it has saved us even more money.

Anyways, I sat there looking at my yummy delicious books and was gloating and giggling and in a general state of ecstasy at my riches… when I realized this could quickly turn into dross. What a waste this would all be if I forgot a good resource and [shock, horror!] would potentially buy a duplicate!!!

I must organize! I know, a disease for some, but for me… I MUST ORGANIZE!

That is when I remembered a friend who was talking about a program to make her home library. I tried Excel, but my familiarity with that program is strictly in using it for finances. I don’t remember how to make it alphabetize.

So Google away!

The first is a paid subscription once you have entered 200 books. I ended up favouring this site, and yes, you can look at the ‘V-aFamily’ library there. I choose this one because I like the books on my virtual library to have the same cover as the books on my shelf. No, this is not because I am strange, but because if the virtual book looks one way I am going to likely be searching for that book.

Both programs allow you to change the cover of the book, however the first program has a large selection of covers. The second program would require me to upload my picture. When you are over 500 books, this takes too much time. I still have some books without covers, and a few with ‘close’ covers. But most of the time I was able to select a cover based on covers that others had uploaded.

I have taken the time to enter a bunch of tags to make my searching a little more personal.

I also like that I can read other people’s reviews of the books I have. There is no way that I can likely read all of my new materials and remember what I thought. So I can also enter in my opinions on the book.

And I can snoop on your shelves too!

Hopefully this works for you!

This entry was posted in Frugal, General, School. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Books, Books, Books…

  1. BrendaS says:

    COOL! Now I can browse your bookshelves virtually, and find anything I am needing to borrow!!!!! 🙂 Keep up the good work!

    Let me know if you find anything in personal software for this kind of thing. I think having it online would make me nervous…in case one day that particular site is no longer ‘online’ and all my/your work goes down the cyberspace tubes!

    Brenda

  2. songbirdy says:

    Yes! Browse away! I will lend out to people that I know well enough.

  3. Desia says:

    Thanks for the librarything link, I just went there and started!

  4. Elaine says:

    That is cool.
    I will have to check out your sites and see about doing this.

Leave a Reply

