Chicken Enchilada Casserole

This is one of the staples in our diet. Its one of those meals that gets made with whatever happens to be in the fridge and cupboards. I decided to take pictures of the process today. And rather than type in the ingredients you can read the card that I use when cooking this meal. Please feel free to make your version and share πŸ˜€Β  Note the following pictures are all clickable.Β  I’m not fond of the width of the columns in this blog set up… so for now… I’m just making do πŸ˜€

Start with your recipe:

Recipe Card

Sorry about the quality… I was not in the mood to pull out the tripod!

Then you’re going to want your ingredients. I’ve collaged the next pictures out of concern for your loading speed πŸ˜€ Today we have Turkey breast, frozen spinach, diced tomatoes, radishes, pureed chick peas, milk, butter, lime, whole wheat tortillas, coriander and cumin. I think thats it!

Ingredients

Some times I’ll make tortillas. More often I use ground beef as the meat. I often do use salsa instead of the diced tomatoes. Once again… it depends on the things I have on hand. I added the lime because I had fresh limes and I wanted a bit of zip to compensate for not having salsa.

Now you’re going to start cooking. Start making the roux sauce. Then add the pureed chickpeas to the frying pan. Add the frozen spinach… and so on…

Don’t forget to do the dishes while it’s baking. Today I baked it at 350 for 20 minutes. Just enough time to wash, dry and put away the dishes πŸ˜€

How to make picture 1 Next series of how to pictures Assembling the Enchiladas!

Doing the Dishes

Now enjoy πŸ˜€

Plate of food

This entry was posted in Fun, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chicken Enchilada Casserole

  1. This looks yummy. I will be making it at some point. We love chicken enchilada casserole but the recipe that I have uses cream of… soup. I haven’t bought the cream of …. soups in a long time, and I don’t want to go back to buying it. My family misses there CEC!

  2. Elaine says:

    Never made chicken enchilladas that way before. I buy the enchilada sauce, red we don’t like the green, and lots of cheese. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

