Experiments

I’ve been experimenting.

The first one you won’t find too weird. A walk down the Cereal aisle at the grocery store over a month ago now left me fuming. It seems the last week of June and first week of July is the time for the stores to increase their prices. Even Tim Horton’s increased the price of their coffee. Yet, they are still the cheapest date in town, πŸ˜† .

Anyhow, I was determined that I was not going to be spending nearly $9 for two weeks worth of breakfast for the kidlets. The way they eat cereal it is a crying shame.

So I whipped up a batch of the HillBilly Housewife’s Brown Sugar Granola since I happened to have those ingredients in the house. It tasted good but the “boring” factor left my daughter not eating breakfast. So the first batch lasted all this time. I tried to dress it up with some yogurt my Aunt had gifted us and that worked until they had run out.

Today I made my second batch of granola. I took the kids to a Bulk Store and we loaded up on sliced Almonds, dried Cranberries, Sunflower seeds, and chocolate chips. I then made a double batch and played around with the “additives.” I baked it, and at the last 15 minuted added the Cranberries. Once out of the oven I stirred in the chips. The reason being is once I added some to the remnant of the last batch and I discovered artfully picked at remains of breakfast. Apparently only the chocolate chips were worth eating.

I kept the cost down by bumping up the oatmeal and flax, and leaving the additives to only $1 worth. I’d say we have easily 2 months worth of Granola here, so that is good. I’m including a 1/3 cup measure in the container and they may have two scoops for breakfast. I also decided that 16 servings of yogurt at $5.50 is worth having my daughter eat her breakfast. That gets me two weeks of breakfast into her tummy. So for 2 months worth of breakfast granola I am at about $32. Compared to the cost of just cereal for that time, $36. Add the milk, $56. I’d say that is a worthwhile experiment. I hope that I can cut out things like some of the cranberries but for now it isn’t ridiculous to include them.

My other experiment is hard for even me to accept.

I am going no-pooΒ  [no shampoo!Β  πŸ˜†Β  ]. I don’t know how long I will do this. My goal is to try it for 2 months as I have a feeling I won’t really know how my body will do with this until this point.

Now I am not saying I’m going dirty hair! πŸ˜† YUCK! But over the last while I’ve gone to shampooing only 2 times a week.

So last week I skipped both times and found no difference. This week I am having a harder time with it.

I didn’t have a Boar’s hair bristle brush to help distribute the oils… my hair is past shoulder length and thick and that kind of brush doesn’t get through all my hair in one go. So I did go and get one, I have to brush it from the top and underneath (starting at the neck) to use the brush. I use a wide tooth comb to pull it into styles.

Yesterday the hair was really creeping me out. It is a mental game. I finally decided to use the baking soda and Apple cider treatment. I’ll be using lemon juice next time! Today it feels much better. Prior to this I was using the hot water rinse and scalp massage method.

The truth is, I had to tell my hubby because of the brush, that was at 2 weeks and 3 days of no-poo. He had no clue and said to him my hair looks and feels the same.

I can’t tell the difference looking in the mirror and it actually isn’t as frizzy as normally is in this weather. So that is good.

But I do feel it on my scalp. And to me it does feel more coarse in general.

This entry was posted in Frugal, General. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Experiments

  1. kimhsmom says:

    Roberta…:lol: I’m not familiar with all the crunchy terms and when you said no poo…Ummmm I thought you meant…No Poooooo….Catch my drift……

    The Cereal sounds devine…Yummmmm and I went to the store today and looked at the price of the cheapest milk….$4.25

  2. I make granola fairly often–I like it better with a combination of honey and brown sugar, although I’m not big on the other add-ins. I do usually add some coconut, if I have it; I have also had good results adding in some bran and powdered milk. But basically it’s rolled oats–either quick, large-flake, or sometimes a combination. I use a recipe from Whole Foods for the Whole Family, or this one: http://heartkeepercommonroom.blogspot.com/2005/09/frugal-emergency-supplies.html . I’ve also used the Lazy Granola (overnight) recipe. http://www.biblicalwomanhood.com/2007/06/frugal-fridays-lazy-granola.html That one’s not bad either, but I prefer the regular way.

    I haven’t yet tried the microwave or skillet methods.

  3. celticmuse says:

    I’ve considered no pooing but just can’t quite get there right now. We get WIC or else we wouldnt’ be eating cereal at all.

  4. songbirdy says:

    Oooh, thanks for the links!

    I’ve been hunting for “good” recipes. So far I’ve just kind of thrown together what I’ve had basing portions on various recipes that I’ve found. So I can’t wait to try one of your chosen recipes next time!

    I’m not 100% sold on the shampoo thing yet. [ πŸ˜† Thanks Kim, I’ve fixed my mistake!] I keep think I am getting looked at everywhere I go. My husband swears it is fine.

    But today I was reading more and some people said they got dandruff for a bit… so as I was brushing my hair I kept think, “see, there’s the dandruff…”

    My husband accused me of having “medical student” syndrome and told me to stop it and just continue the experiment.

  5. Elaine says:

    I’ve not gone the “no poo” route, well not for more than a week and that was many moons ago. πŸ˜† Now a days I rarely go more than 4 days but usually 2-3 between washings. I make at leas on day a week where I use a clarifying poo to really clean my hair.

    There is a forum for long hair, Tresses has it linked at her forum, that gives lots of help and advice for doing the very experiment that you are conducting.

    As for the cereal….I relate to what you are going through. I hadn’t noticed when the stores increase their prices but I did notice that in late June the stores around here raised their milk prices. And then just this week the store that I had been getting it at also raised their price by $.50. πŸ™„ I don’t know why they had to follow the crowd on this issue. I’ve not switched to making my cereal I just watch for the good sales and stock up, the Grocery Game helps with this alot. Keep us apprised as to how this works for you.

Leave a Reply

