Just a Pop-in Before Bedtime

I just thought I’d pop in for a minute.

I unpacked our last box on Tuesday! Yay! 😀

On Wednesday I sewed a Roman Blind for the kitchen. It was up and working by 5 p.m. Wednesday night I was attempting to hang up the Dauphine Rods on our front porch when I managed to slice open the knuckle on my Right Ring Finger. It hurt right away but I didn’t see anything. So I continued and then wondered what was so wet on my finger.

That’s when I looked down and thought, ugh! I had better not let the children see that or they’ll freak. Hey, I’m kind of not handling this too well myself.

My instinct is to always grab my kitchen towel to sop up the mess. And I did. Which is why I always buy dark kitchen towels!

I tried removing the towel a few times to slip on a bandage but the blood kept coming. So I grabbed the bandage and went to see if any neighbours were home to assist me. No neighbours. However the blood finally stopped.

I could see the knuckle bones, but since it was no longer bleeding I managed to bandage it tightly.

My hubby works nights so I had to manage, and I did.

Thankfully it looks really good this morning, but typing with a splint over your knuckle isn’t easy!

Anyhow, once I got the finger settled, I settled for just guesstimating how wide the curtain openings would be so that I could calculate how much material I would need to buy.

Today I bought the material, I managed to find a Red and slightly off white Gingham style fabric for $3.99 a meter. Add your taxes, and it is still costly enough.

Tonight I cut all the panels with just one minor mistake that I can “hide.” And I serged the edges and sewed the few seams to make the panels ready.

Tomorrow I can iron the seams, and then start the hemming and such. I should have the curtains finished by tomorrow night.

The only “if” is that my mother gave me fabric for the liner and it needs to be pieced together, that could hold me up a bit.

And how, do you ask, am I able to get these things done? Well, my children are attending a Day Camp at the school just around the corner. From 9 a.m. till 3 p.m. I am now without children. That my dear friends is my secret!

Anyhow, I must go off to bed and my special finger doesn’t want to co-operate any more!

This entry was posted in General, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just a Pop-in Before Bedtime

  1. Elaine says:

    I’m glad that you are all unpacked now.
    I’m glad that you were able to get the bleeding stopped on that finger, you had me pretty worried for a bit. Take care of that finger and watch for signs of infection.

Leave a Reply

