A Disasterous Afternoon in the Kitchen!

You honestly would never have been able to guess that I cooked for a living if you had been watching me this afternoon.

What a frustrating afternoon of baking!!!

But, oh so very yummy, yummy in my tummy 🙂

First I had to use the strawberries that were not going to make it much longer.  But they were a little past the perfect stage I like them to be in if I am going to eat them.  I am very picky about how my strawberries look if I am to eat them plain.

Wouldn’t you know that I somehow managed to squish one all over my kitchen.

After that is cleaned up and the berries are nicely mixing juices with the rhubarb I start making the tart dough.  I am using a recipe from my MIL that my DS loves.

I’m so out of it!  Instead of trying to cream the butter and sugar, I try to cream the butter and flour.  Of course I didn’t pay attention when I plugged in the mixer (which is backwards on the counter, and important detail) and I had it turned on.  So I quickly go to turn it off as flour is shooting up and out and all over, and I turn it up instead.

So after I clean off the flour, which I slid into a container, because if you recall I had just cleaned the kitchen seconds before to prevent the strawberry from staining it…

I manage to get the tarts made and into the oven.

Then I start with the Asparagus Flan for supper.  I manage to boil dry a pot.  Tip over the stack of dishes waiting to be washed.  And turn the blender on, sans lid.

Needless to say, I now have a spectacularly clean kitchen.  You could eat off of any surface in there right now.  I promise!

Naturally the kids whined and complained about the Asparagus Flan, which was delicious in my humble opinion, and raved about the Rhubarb Strawberry Tart.

The only recipe not mine today was the tart crust recipe.  I found it cloyingly sweet, but had promised my DS once to make it.  Now I have made it and humbly suggest to you to at least halve the sugar, but here is the recipe as it came from my MIL:
Tart Dough:

1 cup butter

1 cup sugar

1 egg

2 1/2 cups flour

Mix the above together.  I have a Kitchen Aide Mixer and I use the butter straight from the fridge, but I found that as the dough warmed, it became stickier and was somewhat more adhesive to itself.  Before that point it was just flaky.

She says it is enough for only 1 tart, but I made 2 tarts in 9 x 9 pans with lattice tops from that recipe.

Rhubarb-Strawberry Filling ~ enough for two tarts.

-1 quart Strawberries, rinsed, and prepped to your fancy

-2 cups diced Rhubarb

-3 eggs

-6 tbsp sugar

-1/4 cup flour

I mixed it together well, and turned into two prepared pans.  Then I covered with a lattice top and flipped the edges over the edge of the lattice in a kind of messy way that is currently in vogue.

I baked them at 375 degrees for some time.  Likely around 40 minutes.

For the Asparagus Flan, I made the above crust but omitted the sugar.

For the filling, take one bunch (aprox. 12 onces) Asparagus stalks.  Snap off the ends, and slice on the bias into nice sized chunks.  Keep tops to the side.

In saucepan, bring enough water to cover Asparagus to a rolling boil.  Put in Asparagus bottoms and boil/simmer for 1 minute.  Add tops and leave on simmer for 4 minutes.  Drain and rinse will with cold water.

Meanwhile, grab 2 tubs of the lowest fat Cottage cheese and drain off as much liquid as you can.  Blend with 2 – 3 eggs.  I honestly can’t remember how many eggs I used.  Toss in about 2 tsp of a Summer Savoury blend of spices.  Add about 1/4 cup of grated cheese with strong flavour.  I omitted the savoury and used a Garden Herb Havarti instead.

Stir Asparagus bottoms, once well drained, into the cheese mixture.  Embellish top with Asparagus tips.  One I threw them on in any old way, and the other I arranged artfully.

Bake at 400 degrees for 30 mins, give or take.  You want the toothpick to come out clean.

Hopefully if you decide to make the you’ll remember to let me know if it turned out as well for you as it did for me!

This entry was posted in General, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Disasterous Afternoon in the Kitchen!

  1. Elaine says:

    Sounds like an interesting day in the kitchen 😉 Personally I would have given up after the messes and just pulled something from the freezer or ordered pizza.

    BTW – I am wondering where you got the theme? I’ve not seen it at WP themes.

  2. songbirdy says:

    Ah there are days when I should give up… but I just don’t seem to realize it at the time! 😆

    The skin is a WordPress skin, Thirteen by Becca Wei. It is way at the bottom. Usually I scroll and find one and click it, not bothering to go all the way along. Last night I really went through the entire section of options and thought… Asparagus… and Wow, that is beautiful … yup, it’s time for a change!

  3. celticmuse says:

    very nice new look. I hate making messes in the kitchen. I do love to bake though.

Leave a Reply

