A Memory Moment

An entry about children’s prayers at the Queen of Carrots has reminded me of my daughter’s prayer one lunch time this past year. I submitted her story to our church’s magazine and it was published. I’m just going to blog it for myself.

One day, when lunch was already late because of a busy morning of school, my son asked to bless the meal. At seven every prayer is a good time to pray for the family, our pets, our extended family, and the sky, the snail he saw yesterday, his friends, and a few other things as well. While I was very hungry and really wanting a hot lunch, it was important for me to encourage his desire to pray. So I said sure and sat patiently through five minutes of prayer.

Once he was finished we recited our group prayer and I eagerly reached for my lunch. At which my daughter piped up that she too wanted to pray. While my son prays for nearly everything, my daughter does pray for everything. At five, it is important to pray for every last detail in your world. Not only do you pray for Mommy, you pray that she won’t find another gray hair today, or tomorrow, or the next day.

Again, my desire to encourage her to pray out-weighed my desire for a hot lunch. We folded our hands again, and she began:

“Dear God,

Thank you for hanging on so long today! But now, we are getting to the best part~ Me! …. …. …. ….”

And yes, I did manage to sit through her entire prayer and not end up on the floor in laughter.

After all, lunches can be reheated, so long as we remember what is the best part!

This entry was posted in Frugal, Musings, School. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Memory Moment

  1. Elaine says:

    That is just too precious. πŸ™‚

  2. LOL! Too funny. I’m sure we’ll be there soon–right now the toddler attention span keeps things from getting too long. πŸ™‚

  3. TrustingGOD says:

    What a beautiful story! I loved her prayers for your lack of grey hair.

    I tell my kids those are my silver medals. We can only receive our gold medal in heaven….. but God does honor us in this earthly realm with a silver!

  4. songbirdy says:

    I love the title of Silver Medals. The Japanese see them as badges of honour as well. They feel that it is an honour to be graced with marks of wisdom and a good life.

    I used to pray that I would get the white shiny hairs and my prayers have been answered. My mother was fairly gray already in Grade Eight so I knew I would get some early! I honestly don’t mind but it does bother my husband! πŸ˜†

Leave a Reply

