A Collection of Goings-On

I am trying to get a nice organized way to do this entry and will go with the old stand-by, Chronological.

On Saturday the Dh had to work, but discovered that there were fireworks at the Riverside Park near his work.  It was the Multi-cultural Festival and the fireworks were in celebration of that event.  When we called for information we discovered that there was a huge tent of food vendors and that the fireworks would start at 9:30 p.m.  Since the kids hadn’t been to fireworks yet, and since I love multi-cultural foods, we arranged to go there directly after Dh’s work.

For $20 we stuffed our selves silly.  Then we walked around the “stuff” vendors and bought up a regular band of instruments.  It has already bought us hours of joy.  The kids have had fun trying to figure out how to make music.

Since it was still awhile till fireworks, we headed off the the “park” a.k.a. the “Jungle Gym.”  After awhile we headed off the the area of the fireworks.  While waiting I was pressed into creating another Herman the Worm story.  I must say that it was sub-par Herman in my opinion, but the surrounding kids did join in with us to sing the alphabet “under water.”

By about 10:30 p.m. we were sure they were going to start the fireworks.  By 11 p.m. we knew that it was any second now.  By 11:30 p.m. we were not leaving because we had stuck it out that long!  Shortly afterwards our diligence or sheer stubborness paid off with a truly amazing set of fireworks.

Sunday morning saw us rushing off to church.  A phone call to my mother revealed that my father had in deed made it home safely from Kenya the night prior.  Dh had to work right after church, so the kids had made sure to wake him up early to give him their elabourate gifts and cards.  The DD was so enamoured with her envelope Daddy got a severe scolding for placing it in the blue garbage!

After dropping off Daddy, the kids and I went to my parents house.  There we saw other family members and a nice set of pictures and videos from Dad’s Kenya trip.  We were spoiled with gifts, and I felt rather embarassed as I had thoughtfully left Dad’s card at home!

This morning the kids woke me up nice and early, 6 a.m. for the DD and 7 a.m. for the DS to give me my birthday gifts.  Then with Dh’s help we loaded the car, got into costume and spent the day at the Fryfogel Inn near Shakespeare and New Hamburg on what is now the Hwy 7 & 8 but used to be the Huron Road.

It was such a lovely day of enactments and participation.  I am such a History buff, simply loved every part of the day.

We came home for supper cooked a la Dh.  Then shipped him off to work.  This evening the kids and I filled my parents trailer to the brim with cut off branches and “weedy” trees that were growing in bad spots and tons of Queen Anne’s Lace.  I love the stuff, but since that is the only plant of smaller stature in our garden, I decided to weed the vast majority of it back and leave a small section of it for now.

And that was my laid back weekend.  Just you wait until next weekend.  Okay, just kidding!

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Collection of Goings-On

  1. BrendaS says:

    Nice to see you at the Fryfogel today! It was a good day, wasn’t it?

    What I can’t figure out is how you did gardening after such a busy and HOT day! I came home and took a NAP!!!!!!

    Ah to have the energy of my kids…and apparently YOU! 🙂

  2. songbirdy says:

    If I took a nap, my kids would have done something worse than gardening without me! 😆

    It was hot though!

    It was nice to see you… and at least say Hi 🙂 We’d like to extend an invitation to you and yours to come down for a picnic and walk along the rivers!

  3. Elaine says:

    Sounds like a great weeked.

    Happy Birthday!!

Leave a Reply

