Clean Air Day

So how’s this for fun!

[Spoken like a country hick!]

Today all the buses in Guelph are Free! Last night at my first Guelph Home School Support Group meeting I learned that Guelph is “sold” by Real Estate Agents to Hip Torontonians as being the Crunchiest City in Ontario! I don’t know if that is true, but hey! We definately have a Crunchy Garbage system. The kids and I find ourselves standing in front of the fridge side where I have taped the guidelines several times a day trying to figure out where the item we have in our hands belongs! White, Green or Blue!

Anyhow. I am also going to try and get us a City Phone book. Using Canada 411 works, but kind of labourious! I am the sort that still loves the feel of a search through a paper book and do find it so much more rapid than entering a password, pulling up the Brouwser, clicking on the web site in my bookmarks, waiting for it to load, entering my search, refining my search, and then hunting for the phone! 😆

Oh well, time to run! … ride!

Post Script:

We had a blast!  We spent the day riding buses, walking through the downtown and so forth.  Nearly 7 hours out and about!

It was nice.  I think the kids and I can do this quite easily.  I also learned that with planning I can take the kids to TO for only $25 one-way on the train.  That would be quite fun and now I have to figure out a good plan/trip.

One thing we are going to work on is DS’s mouth.  He was lipping off about the idiots whose pants hang off their hips, and stuff like that all day.  I know where he gets it from and have spoken to him a lot, but he hasn’t learned.  Today twice I had a very frank talk about him that sometimes those “idiots” get very angry with lippy kids and wouldn’t have a problem letting the lippy child know that they were fed up with him.

He also has a habit of broadcasting everything.  All our information, etc.  So I have to work on getting a filter in front of his mouth.  And work on the source of some of his behaviours.  Thankfully we are not in contact with this person/family too often, but they will be in his life forever so he will have to learn to choose his own words and thoughts!

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Clean Air Day

  1. Elaine says:

    Glad that you are able to get around so easily and inexpensively.

    About the lippy kid….not an easy thing but it can be done. Discernment is a maturity issue. All the best to you.

Leave a Reply

