Cleaning

So I have this huge house to clean and lots of energy with which to clean it.

And since I am cleaning it I am not, as they say, procrastinating on my packing! No, I am being gainfully employed!

Actually I have been dutifully trying out all my “new” cleaning products that the kidlets and I assembled. I am calling it “practical chemistry” for them, and fun for me.

We did learn a few things. When they say non-sudsing dish detergent that means no BUBBLES 😦 Yeah, Momma had better read the titles of the soaps more and not so much choosing her recipes based on ingredients and if I have them or not 😆

So, the Borax and Vinegar in the toilet bowl. Check and it works a-ok.

Non-sudsing Dish detergent. Works pretty great, but doesn’t have much long term power on really greasy dishes. I have found that the best thing to do with it is to dallop some of the soap in the pan, give it a good pre-wash rinse and then I can give it a finally good touch of elbow grease and get it clean. So, unless I find a better dish soap recipe, this one works for dishes but not pots and pans. And as the dishes go in the dishwasher… I’m not needing this soap.

Dishwasher detergent: Still using up my tabs and haven’t even assembled the powder home made dishwasher soap yet. Have them but just bidding my time.

Home made window and mirror cleaner: When they say buff, they mean give it a buff. Works wonderful and I find it kind of does resist steam spots from the DH’s showers. However, still not powerful enough to eliminate kid marks. But kid marks are a sign of a home, so no worries! I’d give this one a check, works great.

All-purpose cleaner: I like this one too. I was using a mix of 1 tbsp bleach to 1 cup water before and still running into the oops I spotted my clothes again issue. This cleaner doesn’t use bleach, but lemon juice and does a nice job. Cuts a fair amount of grease. Check and works just fine.

Floor Cleaner: Err, okay I wasn’t patient and didn’t wait to use this. It worked fine, but I still have to give it the major test of clean. I’ll let you know how it works when I clean the Mud Room. Check with-held pending further testing!

Laundry Detergent: Well, at the moment we are not using home made detergent nor are we using store detergent either. Nope, we are using Nellie’s Laundry Soda . I also use their dryer balls. I have found that in deed, the dryer balls have cut back on the length of time it takes to dry the clothes and no I do not need fabric softner. I have used a sheet on some loads where I know there is a static issue. The laundry soda uses 1 tbsp per load and works amazingly well on farm clothes as well as normal. And I find the clothes do have a slightly different feel with this system.

Anyhow, there goes some of my fun experiments into home made cleaning projects. My recipes have all come from this book: Home Made, Best Made.  As for what is left, I have washed the hallway walls, the stair case and all the trim in that area. Tonight the bathroom cupboards, walls, trim and ceiling. I gave the kitchen wainscotting a good go over about 1 month ago, and did all the windows in the house not to long ago as well.

So some more regular house cleaning, but I should have things fairly clean when we move out.

This entry was posted in Frugal, General, School. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cleaning

  1. lovingewe says:

    Roberta I have used natural products for years.
    Bleach for the toilet.
    Baking soda for scrubbing.
    Vinagar for windows and floors, and sometimes a pinch of soda with vinagar for cleaning the tough stuff.

    Having had a child with bad allergies made me switch.

    I do use Sunlight detergent for laundry, because of allergies but companies are always changing the products and at times it is hard to find the regular phoshat free stuff.

    Glad you got the old house clean. Now off to the gardens…right!

  2. Elaine says:

    You’ve done well, Birdy. I’ve never used homemade cleaners other than the vinegar/water window cleaner. One day I may have to try this.

  3. teresab01 says:

    Good going Birdy! I have made a few of my own, but not in a while . Hugs!

Leave a Reply

