Beef Stroganoff

This recipe has a little history. First of all, I have a rule for recipe books. When I get a new recipe book I will often glean that book and use many of its recipes. When I find one I love, I make note of it. Once I have cooked that recipe a few times, I will write it down on one of my special recipe cards. After a year, I will find that I no longer use that Recipe book, just the cards in my special card file box. At that point, I gift the cook book along. I have discovered that I am not very likely to use that book again, and the joy of the cook book must be shared!

So this recipe comes from a cook book I got when the hubby and I were newly weds. I signed up for this magazine deal and they sent a cook book as the freebie gift. Now, at the time I was the President’s Chef at the college I attended. I loved to get in the kitchen and make things from scratch. This cook book was perfect for me, as nothing was simple and nothing was really truly quick.

But when my son was born, and this was before I learned to share my cook books along, I found out that there was only one recipe that I would make from that cook book. The one you find below.

The only thing I have noted is that this is a “Pol Martin” Recipe. He was the author of the cook book.

Brown:

1 1/2 lb beef sirloin strips in 4 tbsp olive oil.

Remove and Add:

1 large sliced onion

1 garlic clove, crushed

1/2 lb mushroom (baby button)

Saute until softened.

Remove and make Roux:

Add 1 1/2 tbsp flour to pan

Stir, but once it is good and stuck pour in:

2 cups warm stock

1 tsp tomato paste

1 tbsp fresh parsley

Once nice thick sauce is made return previous ingredients to pan. Heat nicely.

Remove from heat and stir in 3 tbsp sour cream.

Serve on bed of fresh Pasta.

Fancy Scmanzy Eh?

SO here is how I do it:

Take 1 diced onion

2 stalks diced celery

2 cloves crushed garlic

1 tbsp butter

Once above is soft, add:

1 lb ground beef

1 pkg mushrooms, halved, diced, whatever you want

Scramble fry above until well cooked. Don’t want to poison anyone.

Once cooked add 2 tbsp flour to mixture. Continue to stir well, watch to make sure you get a nice bit stuck to the bottom of the pan.

Dump in 2 cups Stock. In a pinch, you could add a can of cream of mushroom soup. This will really zing up your flavour. But do the stock if at all possible.

Also add 1 small can of tomato paste, after all! What would you do with the rest of the can if you just took 1 tsp!!!

Stir it up really good. Once it starts to bubble, throw in 1 tbsp of dried parsley. Busy Momma’s don’t often have fresh!

Once your pasta is cooked, remove sauce from heat. Stir in large spoonful of sour cream.

Serve over spaghetti noodles.

Lick your plates!

So, you have my method. IF you were to come over and steal my recipe box, like my Aunt did once, you would be sadly disappointed because you would have the first recipe and not be able to make *my* Beef Stroganoff!

Sized for freezer cooking:

Beef Stroganoff

~GI Friendly~

Ingredient

1

2

3

4

5

6

onion, diced

1

2

3

4

5

6

celery stalk, diced

2

4

6

8

10

12

garlic clove, crushed

2

4

6

8

10

12

fat (tbsp)

2

4

6

8

10

12

gnd beef (lbs)

1

2

3

4

5

6

mushrooms (package)

1

2

3

4

5

6

(oz)

8

16

24

32

40

48

flour (tbsp)

2

4

6

8

10

12

stock (cups)

2

4

6

8

10

12

tomato paste (tbsp)

1

2

3

4

5

6

parsley (tbsp)

1

2

3

4

5

6

sour cream (tbsp)

3

6

9

12

15

18

Directions:

-scramble fry onion, celery, garlic and fat (butter) till veggies are softened.

-add ground beef and cook till cooked.

-add mushrooms, cook till mostly dry of extra moisture.

-add flour, cook a bit till the mixture sticks to the bottom of the pan.

-stir in stock and tomato paste

-stir and cook until thickened.

-just before serving, stir in parsley (dried) and sour cream.  Allow to heat but not curdle!

Serves excellent over pasta, rice or potatoes!

Is delicious!

This entry was posted in Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

