Apple Cheddar Pancakes

This recipe was gleaned from an Egg Cookbook my MIL gave me. I gave the book on and lost the copy I had made of the recipe. So after a long internet hunt I found the exact same recipe at the Alberta Egg Producer’s Website. They called it Golden Cheddar Pancakes.

Dry Ingredients:

1 3/4 cup flour

1/4 cup sugar

1 tbsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

pinch of cinnamon

Once that is stirred mix in:

1 1/2 cup grated cheddar

1 grated apple ~note if the peel cooks soft, I include it. But not the core!

Wet Ingredients:

2 eggs

1 1/4 cup milk

1 tsp vanilla

Mix the two together quickly. If you want super fluffy pancakes, let the batter sit a few minutes for the Baking Powder to go through its first action. This will make a very thick batter. If you like thinner pancakes because cooking thick ones seems to always result in burnt pancakes, up the milk by 1/4 cup.

I always use butter when “cooking” pancakes.

Perhaps the next time I make these, I will remember to take a photo and include that for your drool factor.

This entry was posted in Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Apple Cheddar Pancakes

  1. Sheri says:

    Mmmm, sounds yum. I love cheddar & apples together. In fact, that was my evening snack last night.

    Do you know which apple peels cook up soft? I have no clue.

  2. songbirdy says:

    I pulled this list of Cooking Apples of Wikipedia:

    * Blenheim Orange
    * Bramley
    * Caville Blanc
    * Edward VII
    * Granny Smith (also used as an eating apple)
    * Gravenstein
    * Grenadier
    * James Grieve (also used as an eating apple)
    * Rhode Island Greening
    * Jonathan (also used as an eating apple)
    * Royal Gala
    * McIntosh
    * Crab apple

    I have to say my favourite for cooking and making apple sauce and such are the Crispin Apples. They are also known as Mutsu Apples. I won’t peel these apples.

    Granny Smith, Red Delicous, Macintosh are a few of the apples that I think must be peeled.

    And yes, I love snacking on Apples and Cheese too. Here’s another taste for you to try, Pears and Cheddar cheese. I should post the recipe for my Cheddar Pear Walnut Crisp sometime. That is a keeper. Rich, but yummy!

  3. Sheri says:

    Galas are my favorite munching apple, but I don’t think I’ve ever cooked with them before….have to give it a try. I usually use Granny Smiths for baking.

    Yep, I like pears & cheddar, too. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Recipe Box Index « Birdy’s Blog

Leave a Reply

