New Skirt

On Saturday morning I got it in my head that I wanted a new Sunday outfit.

I dug through my pattern box and came up with this one.  On Friday I had convinced my MIL to part with a piece of fabric.  Saturday at Fabricland I discovered that I couldn’t make it work for me.  (don’t worry, I came up with a solution later on 😀 )

Anyhow I found material that would work.  I rushed home at noon and by 7 pm had the skirt finished.  At 10 pm I was ready to put the sleeves in the top, but discovered that I was now threadless.  And it was such a good match.  I debated using a close match, but decided that I would much prefer just waiting.  SO I wore the skirt Sunday morning with a denim blouse.  It looked okay, but will look better when finished.

Here are some pictures of the skirt.  I added 4 inches to make it ankle length on my 6 foot tall body.

Skirt pulled out

Skirt hung on door to show length.

Foolishly… I picked a fabric that isn’t machine washable!  But it was so pretty 😀

Now I looked for the exact pattern I used, but it is no longer available…

So I will attempt to scan the image and upload it so you will have a glimpse of what you could look for if wanting to make your own.

This entry was posted in Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to New Skirt

  1. sumijoti says:

    That’s a gorgeous skirt, Roberta! I love the fabric.

  2. Jessica(N) says:

    I love that fabric Roberta, now where is the pic of it on you??? lol

  3. celticmuse says:

    love the skirt especially the color. I’m going to be sewing this summer, I have tons of material that needs to be used up.

  4. Beautiful~I love the fabric you chose.
    I need to pull my sewing machine out and make the girls some dresses. They are starting to outgrow a lot of them and I hate the styles available in the stores!

  5. Sheri says:

    Its lovely, Birdy. I was looking at the picture before reading your post. thinking, ‘man that is one long skirt’. Now, we want to see you IN it!

  6. lovingewe says:

    Beautiful Roberta.
    I full understand the height thing too. Good thing about getting older though……. you start to shrink. I’m down to 5’10 1/2″ now, and liking it.

    I think you might have given me the sewing bug again. I have af ew summer outfits cut out for me, its just finding the me time to make it all.

Leave a Reply

