Onions, Loosing Teeth and Reading

“Mommy,” says the boy excitedly, “I know why God made onions! Remember when we were studying on eyes, and you said we have to cry because it cleans out the bad stuff from our eyes? Well, its okay for girls to cry at anything, but God made onions so that boys would have a reason to cry! He didn’t want us to be stuck with bad things in our eyes!”

Reasons why God made sure that men didn’t have to give birth. My son is loosing his seventh tooth. Admittedly not a pleasant expecience. But no matter, this is the most incredibly painful loose tooth experience ever. No child has ever, in the course of recorded history experienced such pain and torture!

That is why men can’t give birth! My daughter has undergone so many terrible things for her bladder/kidney issue… and she keeps on ticking. Mind you she gets a little ornery… but you would think she was dealing with her annoying brother, not a large amount of pain.

And last… My daughter, is sitting here reading to me from King Midas. I would really like to tear the book away from her. I can’t have my baby reading yet! And there she sits, reading beautifully.

Edited to add:  DD read the entire book, all 62 pages to me.  She struggled with words like: sausages, goldsmiths, clocks, servants, secret, and “of course.”  But then she read words like: morning, night, flash, wondered, turned and touched.

I think this is very exciting, but a little bitter sweet for Momma!

This entry was posted in School. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Onions, Loosing Teeth and Reading

  1. Sheri says:

    There is something bittersweet about the youngest learning to read. My youngest’s road to reading was a bit challenging, so I was ecstatic when he took off.

    My husband and I had a deal. He takes care of all loose teeth and I took care of the umbilical cords. Worked well for me, my job is long done. Besides there is something about teeth wiggling and pulling that makes me quesy.

  2. celticmuse says:

    How sweet, I’m still trying to decide what to do about them.

  3. Bekki says:

    Your son is right. It simply wouldn’t do for a man to cry except when cutting an onion. (Am I the only one who finds that amsuing and cute?)

    There is something really bittersweet in the little ones growing up isn’t there? I want to freeze mine in this moment and keep him small and cute forever. (Well only sometimes. )

  4. gingerporter says:

    My two boys might argue with him after cleaning the onions when they were helping me with dinner one day…..they claim to be allergic like daddy.

    How awesome on the reading!!!!

    Way to go!!!

  5. That is so sweet! I don’t think I have seen Dh cry when helping in the kitchen though. He is a sentimental man though and I have seen him cry plenty. The boy seems to be an emotional type though. He cries when he gets upset!

    I know what you mean about the little one reading. My youngest started reading a few weeks ago. I posted a pic in my blog.

Leave a Reply

