What a Day we had!

So its time for a bit of a story!

Yesterday we did go house hunting. I had called my father earlier in the week to see if they could babysit the darlings since the new Realtor (a man called Clare) didn’t want darlings along. Yes they could. Fine, but with DH’s new schedule (3:30 p.m. to midnight+) would they be willing to loan him their truck and drive the kids and I home in our vehicle and return our vehicle to their house so that DH could drop off their truck afterwards and take our vehicle home.

Yes it would have been easier for DH just to take our car in the first place, but my father was going to have their vehicle that could fit the kids and I so we came up with the above convoluted solution. It was so convoluted that when my father arranged to get a ride so that Mom would have their kid friendly car, we didn’t clue in and went ahead with the above.

Only my mother had a meeting so we didn’t get to leave their house until 10 p.m. last night! Hence I missed Ginger’s call 😦 😦 😦

Anyhow… my husband is a real peach! Yep, it was just awesome to go house shopping with him. I was talking to a friend about this and she finally gave me something that I can use with DH!

Here’s the scoop. When the Duplex fell through DH finally said, “Let’s just get a house in Cambridge.”

That’s where my parents live. And my brother, and my Aunts and Uncles, Cousins and Grandfather.

And it is only 30 mins give or take from his work.

And it offers a good bus system, lots of store, lots of school stuff, lots of history (for North America) and so forth.

I was excited! So I called up Clare and we set things into motion. We couldn’t met last week because of my involvement with VBS. So this week the novelty of DH’s decision had worn off.

The first house was… not really suitable. The second house is the one Clare and I think would be the best situation for us. The third is a semi that my hubby really liked. Black floors, gray walls through out, and the ceiling of the Rec. Room would have to be replaced. The third is one that I also like. Exact same layout as the second, but no black or gray. And no falling ceiling. Newer roof, original furnace. Then we saw and estate sale. LOVELY house. Very nice. Fabulous neighbourhood and the owner was a neat freak. Each door had a duster and a broom and dust pan attached to it. Each room had a flashlight that turns on when the hydro went out in it.

However, a tad out of reach in price and a tiny yard with a shared/mutual driveway. The driveway is actually with the house, and there is a great garage that we would *have* to use so that the other people could park in their back yard.

That house is the only one my hubby thought was okay. But he said the house that Clare and I felt would be the best was his second favourite.

But what my hubby did was… moan, whine and complain the whole time. Basically what I would have expected from a teenager. “We can’t get rental income from this!” “I like to commute.” “I don’t want to leave our church.” “I don’t like semi’s.”

You name it! “I don’t like that window.” “They finished these floors in too dark a stain.” “I don’t like the name of this street.”

On the way back to my parents I said, “what were you doing?”

He doesn’t want to leave our church. That is his reason.

Tonight my friend said that was fine. Tell him you’re willing to commute to church! Yup. I think she is brilliant! That is the biggest reason DH gives for not moving. Our church. Okay! Fine, it would suck to have to leave the house at 8 a.m to get to church for 9:30 a.m., but quite frankly, I’d do that to live in that one house!

The library… 10 minute walk. The bus stop, 5 mins away. The river valley, 2 mins, but down, down, down hill so no fear of flooding. The lot… 1/2 an acre. The house is very livable inside. The outside looks… rough. It’s well patched stucco. But… do able for us financially.

I’m going to try and link the listing:MLS 790872

The reason we can go up a bit in cost is because the commute is… a total of about 1 1/4 hours shorter per day. That is a lot of gas money. And since the grocery store is… within walking distance, that means I wouldn’t have the 20 minute drive into town, etc. Oh, yes, the bank we use is in the same plaza.

[Edited to add:  I just Google maps the house to DH’s work… I was wrong, it comes up at 17 mins.  That would be 2 hours off his commute time!  It would aproximately be 55 mins to church for us, so that would mean leaving the house no late than 8:15 a.m.  BUT!  17 mins commute!]

And I’d likely be able to get a job babysitting my cousin’s baby. My cousin-in-law is a Paramedic and has been begged to go back to work, but is unwilling to until she finds a sitter she likes. She would only go part-time.

Oh, and did I mention… there would be a lovely school room in this house too.

LOL! I’m not sold just on this house, but of the ones that I liked and the DH liked, this one is the most manageable for us, and the closest to his work.

Here is another neat thing about yesterday. I brought along the back pack of school stuff, since I knew it was going to be a long day. We got back to my parents at around 1 p.m. My mother and the kids were just starting lunch. The kids looked up, “MOM! guess what? Gram E. taught us today!”

Yup, my mother pulled out the books and did all the work with them! I was so happy! So I scrapbooked for her, she was so happy then too! 😀

Anyhow. I am going to go and read for a bit. My throat is so sore!

My pink eyes are doing really well. I love these drops.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What a Day we had!

  1. Sheri says:

    I checked out the house. I like it a lot and so close to family! 🙂

  2. gingerporter says:

    I like the house….so, where do the french doors lead to?
    It would be wonderful that it is close to family…..husbands can be trying when it comes to shopping….whether it be grocery shopping or house hunting.

    I sent you an email….I think it is the right address…..

  3. lovingewe says:

    Funny Dh was the sore one out looking. I believe it is usually the wife? I’m glad you found some things you like. Cambridge isn’t far from my brother’s houses in Kitchner. We could get together once a year when i visit. What fun!!

  4. songbirdy says:

    Oh, the french doors lead to the…

    School room 😀

    I told him the lets commute to church bit and he warmed up a bit more to the house.

    But the truth came out that he is worried about the finances. So today I am working on that side. Cutting off 2 hours a day of commute 5 days a week, should drastically cut our car fuel bill. That should make up the difference. Time to spread sheet.

  5. Bekki says:

    Oh Good luck. Trying to get my Dh to move from a standpoint is like drawing blood from a stone. I hope yours has a better caving mechanism. (Even when my Dh KNOWS he is wrong, he still won’t budge on principal)

    Sorry for the minor expolsion there, reading about you and your Dh and the house just touches on what I am going through in regaurds to homeschool.

    I hope you can convince him to see reason, and barrign that come to a reasonable and comfortable compromise.

  6. Elaine says:

    The house looks great. I’ll be praying for you and the decision that you have to make. I happen to agree that commuting to church once a week is much better than commuting to work 5 days.

  7. That house is nice! I’ll be praying for wisdom for both you and Dh as you are looking/deciding on a house.

  8. celticmuse says:

    what a beautiful house, I love it….

Leave a Reply

