No, Not Yet

I am actually happy to write these words because I now have a strong idea as to where we are not going at this time.  Yesterday I received a phone call from our lawyer Ben.  He started with the line, “I’m calling to tell you that you are not going to be buying this house.”

He then gave me a fairly lengthy list of reasons why we should not buy this property.  Among things, there was $15,000 of tax liens on the house.  This would have been cared for during the sale.  Every single utility had been disconnected from the house and each one was in arrears over $1000.  The Seller had led on to believe that the house was to pass the zoning.  Ben discovered that it would provided the Seller met 3 conditions.  The seller had not attempted to do those 3 things, but had tried to hide the facts from his and our lawyer.  And that, my friends, was only the beginning of things that our lawyer found out regarding the property.

I am so thankful we have a lawyer who did his job and took his time to protect us.  It could have been so easy for us to have chosen the wrong lawyer and none of this would have been discovered.  I completely see the hand of God having guided us in this situation!

We, Joshua and I, were worried about the cost.  We knew that when we told the lawyer that we would walk away from the house if need be that we were accepting no house but still a bill from the lawyer.  For us, that is a very serious consideration.  The lawyer told me aproximately how much we owed him, but then told me that he was going to cap his fees and not charge us more than an amount which was considerably less than what he said.  Ben gave the reason that he hoped we would still consider buying a house, and promised that the next time we should not encounter a situation like this!  How’s that, not only did we get a break, but we got a promise from a Lawyer!  😆  Just kidding a bit!

In the meantime, we do feel very strongly that it is time for us to move.  Yes, even my husband thinks it is time to move.  The Landlord here has really shown some true “colour” in our dealings with him and my husband isn’t happy.  It takes very much to make my hubby upset.

Now my husband would still really like to stay in this area.  However, it really doesn’t seem right to me.  I have felt that we should move closer to his work.  For many, many reasons.  Since we simply can not afford to move to the city he works in, as the housing costs are sky high, we are looking in the city in which my youngest brother lives (45 mins closer to Joshua’s work) or the city in which my parents live (50 mins closer).

Among things, both cities offer bus services.  They do offer family.  In the situation when my daughter broke her elbow, God really had his hand on us and provided that my husband should be home 5 minutes after the event occured.  But that was such a rare and atypical thing!  Ninety percent of the time I would have had to make several phonecalls and rely on others.  Not that I am opposed to this, but too many times it is too hard to get in touch with others!

This winter has been absolutely terrible.  He has missed so many days of work.  He uses vacation days, but almost has used all of his vacation time up!  We had two calm winters, but this is actually typical for this area.

Quite frankly, I don’t spend too much time worrying for him, but I will very often wake up and feel called to pray him home.  That is exhausting to me.  And there is the issue of me spending so much time alone out here.  I love my kids, but often I feel squirrly!  And I have not had a dear and close friend in so long!  I really need to have some adult people that I can see and touch in my life!  I love all the friends the internet has given me, but I have become dependant on them and spend too much time trying to keep up that my family is suffering because of my attention they rightfully deserve being spent on others.

So, I feel that my answer to, “Lord, I think we need to move!”  Is, “not yet, keep looking!”

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to No, Not Yet

  1. I am glad you have a clear answer from the lawyer, Roberta. Ben has been a real friend & blessing during this time. It is wonderful that he has put a cap on the amount.

    I will continue to pray for direction and guidance as you look for a house to rent or buy.

  2. lovingewe says:

    Can relate to living out in the boonies Roberta. I never could live in the city but living so far from things at times, like this past winter, it has been a curse. I know things will work out for you all. You have to be patient and faith that God will guild you to the right situation. E-mail if you need to chat.

  3. Elaine says:

    You’ve got a good honest attorney there, keep him.

    Sorry that this isn’t working out but glad that you’ve learned what you have before it got too much farther. God is certainly at work in your lives.

    I’ll be praying that you’ll find the right place and will have complete peace about it. Glad that you will be moving closer to family and DH’s work.

  4. sleepymamma says:

    Wow!! What a testimony to God’s grace and protection!! I hope you find what you are looking for in a house!!

  5. Bekki says:

    It’s a comfort to at least have some kind of plan, be it a simple, yes you should move, but keep looking. It’s also comforting to know that you have an honest lawyer lookign out for your best interests. (Now there’s an oxymoron if ever I saw one 🙂 )

  6. sumijoti says:

    This kind of thing has happened often with us. It is as if there is some kind of scenario that involves change, which gets us up and going, but it doesn’t work out the way we had planned because God has something BETTER up his sleeve! The first scenario served the purpose of getting us out of the status quo and ready for God’s real plan.

    I believe that God has something beautiful in store for you! (That house would have been too cramped for you antway)

Leave a Reply

