Journalling

[Posted first: June 16, 2006]

I love to journal.

I read somewhere once that a man generally speaks between 3,000 and 5,000 words a day. Women range from about 10,000 to 25,000 plus. That, in the researchers opinion, helped explain why, at the end of the day men and women got into so many fights. The man would have just come home from the office, having used up 4, 980 words in his daily “quota.” The wife, meanwhile, would have spent the day dealing with young children and other not highly verbal situations and used up, about 2,000 words.

So you have a man with little desire to talk, and a woman needing to talk.

That is why, he felt, woman need other women for friends. That way they can use up those extra words and not “burden” their relationship. Telephones, in his opinion, were about one of the best marriage saving devices ever made.

While Journalling isn’t talking, I do find it very soothing. Especially since, for the last 4 years if not longer, I have not had any one home with me in the evenings. And up until about 1 year ago, I didn’t have a car from about noon on.

I also have such a hard time calling my friends after their husbands are home because I treasure the importance of this time between couples and their families.

So last night I decided to try and combine my favourite journals into one. I have a prayer journal, a bible study journal based on “lectio devinia,” and then my Gratitude Journal. I was able to squeeze the key elements from all three on to an 8 1/2″ by 8 1/2″ double sided page. Only I printed them to face eachother, leaving the first and last page blank.

I was very pleased. I then chopped down the paper with my nice chopper. {bought for my Scrapbooking business, but used for more smile.gif }

Today, before my gardening job, I dropped it off. I picked it up before returning home tonight. I just love it. I wanted to do more with watermarking the backdrop. And I wanted to make lines as opposed to dash looking underline, but I’ll figure it out eventually. For now, I have a made just for me journal to try out and see if I love it as much as I think I will.

Another solution for all those extra words bubbling around me? HomeSchooling… and the Internet.

But the kids are done their bath. Its time to go and read poetry and settle down for bed.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

