Broken Arm Summary…

[Posted first: October 17, 2006]

So… to summarize my lovely past days.

Was posting last blog entry in the kitchen in the middle of doing dishes, nothing like completing two tasks poorly…

Yelled at kids to stop it and to sit down and play with their toys… DD comes in kitchen crying and carrying on.

Quick post entry…

Said to DD, “Where does it hurt?”

Manipulate her wrist… take her elbow in my hand and bend her arm up… feel things moving… Seconds later her fingers start to swell. Grab a ruler and tensor aid and loosely wrap her arm.

DH walks in… explain in short words to DH what’s going on. Notice DD’s finger are turning blue remove wrap and rewrap it looser.

Putting on DD’s coat… rewrap arm… Drive as near as I can to a lunatic in freezing rain… so drove cautiously but a little faster than if not in a hurry…

Park in emerge parking lot… DD starts screaming that we are so far away from the doors… Pick her up carry her in. Place her at Triage Desk. Nurse comes… “I suspect she has a fracture,” says me… Doctor rushes out of the room… off to x-ray… nurses come by with Codine… x-ray… see the fracture… Codine is working… off to the casting room in emergency.

Notice that the gentleman sleeping in the bed in the casting room is cuffed to the bed, recall the Police at the Triage Desk… Remember that Stratford has the County Jail. Position DD so she can’t see the cuffs.

Emerge is full as there were two car crashes due to the icy rain…

First Year Med student comes and we go through a 45 min work-up (again)… 30 mins of her trying to figure out how to work the tool and check DD’s retina…

Doc comes back. Med student wrecks first half cast… Doc and I put on second cast together…

Go to Pharmacy and pick up Perscription…

Go home. She sleeps like a drugged Baby… I am omg2.gif I don’t allow a clock that I can read without my glasses on my side of the bed. I figure I would toss and turn even longer if I did…

Next morning…

DD and DS are playing Patient. DS starts becoming clearly jealous.

Spent morning contacting all the family members. Don’t want anyone to feel left out. Actually, I have a list in my day timer that I work through… Family Feuds are stupid and can be avoided when I am stressed out!

By afternoon I prescribe a half hour nap for everyone. We wake up and go for hour long walk around the farm.

Supper…

Bed…

Thursday Morning:

Slept in. Woke up to have to rush… Had a shower. Then I basin bathed DD. She then has her first bout of nausea…

Get DD dressed, deal with jealous brother. Get dressed myself.

DD has second bout of nausea… realize I need another sling… basin bathe her and change her outfit.

Sewing sling… DD has third bout of nausea… by now I am fed up of basin bathing her… but what to do! So she is changed. Finish sling… Ride arrives…

DD starts again… but I had her right by my side and slip in the bowl…

DS is acting jealous… Get us all in the vehicle…

To the hospital via emerge… Doctor suspects it is Codine reacting…

Up to Ortho clinic… DS starts freaking out on elevator… To the point that I might have slapped him if I didn’t know that the elevator ride was over in seconds. They are testing fire alarms… DS continues.

Then DS starts throwing his back pack of stuff all over construction area… Ortho clinic is a construction area.

Take DS for a bathroom break… DD is scared and yelling at me through the door. DS gets a little bit of firm direction… didn’t seem to make too much difference.

2 hours later… into the clinic… x-ray didn’t send up the films… they run and get films… decide not to x-ray again and just cast her… DS is put on a stool in the corner of the room where he can kind of see… DD does really well.

DONE! Have to walk down 5 flights of stairs… DS was panicking in the casting room already about the elevator down.

Call for the ride… no answer, see someone in the lobby I know and they offer a ride… Home!

Quick serve lunch and send DS to his room! He sleeps for over 2 hours.

Check in… go for my own nap.

Wake up… 2 hours of tutoring… DH comes home… I ask if we could just take some of the tutoring money and go out for supper and pick up some patterns for DD.

Now I have to put on bread so DH can have burgers to work tomorrow. DH just asked me if I am mad at him… How on earth do I answer that…. I said sort of yes… He walked away. So much for communication.

Tomorrow we have got to get going on time… Its Co-op day…

Saturday is Moving Day…

Sunday… I’m holding out for Sunday.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

