Pretend Austrailian

G’day!blush.gif laugh.gif Our church is starting to get ready for its Vacation Bible School program. We run it during the March Break, as there are a number of churches in the area, and if we run our program in the summer we always compete with other churches. So we thought we’d better serve the area and each other by running our program at this time of the year.

Anyhow, the leader’s picked a cirriculum called the “Outback” this year. Set ‘down unda.’

I was teasing them about it mercilessly a few weeks ago. My best friend and neigbour while we lived overseas were Aussie’s so I was doing this in my Aussie accent. A true Australian would probably land themselves in the hospital laughing at me…

Especially since they came up with the right fantastic idea that since I can “do the accent” I get to be the Bible Teacher/Leader Person…

So… I am “Outback Birdy.” They are going to dress me up Irwin-like… and I am going to have to interact with my pet Koala…

I am going to have to get Becki and the other Aussies to fill me in with some good slang (as in not offensive slang) that I can practice using! biggrin.gif

Its been a while… I can’t remember the word you use for your bag… but I’m going to have to work on that. And I do believe they use Tiffen time, but it is possible that is British…

That’s what happens when you grow up in a multi-cultural community, get your slang all mixed up!

Anyhow, I think this will be fun. I am having fun annoying my husband with all the practice I am doing on my accent. I’d like to get good enough to sing in “character” but currently its coming up more Scottish when I sing… and that leaves me howling with laughter. And DH turning up the volume on the radio!

Later Mates!

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

